PDF Version
PDF Version

R.S.O. 1990, c. S.5, AS AMENDED

 - and -





(Application to vary under section 144)

WHEREAS on June 1, 2004, the Ontario Securities Commission (the “Commission”) made an order under paragraph 2 of subsection 127(1) of the Securities Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. S.5, as amended (the “Act”), as varied by Order of the Commission dated March 8, 2005 (the “Hollinger MCTO”), that all trading, whether direct or indirect, by the persons and companies listed in Schedule “A” (individually, a “Respondent” and collectively, the “Respondents”) in the securities of Hollinger Inc. (“ Hollinger ”) shall cease, subject to certain exceptions as provided for in the Hollinger MCTO, until two full business days following the receipt by the Commission of all filings Hollinger is required to make pursuant to Ontario securities law ;

AND WHEREAS Argus Corporation Limited and its subsidiaries 509643 N.B. Inc., 509644 N.B. Inc., 509645 N.B. Inc., 509646 N.B. Inc. and 509647 N.B. Inc. (the “Numbered Subsidiaries”), each a Respondent, (collectively, the “Applicants”), have made an application (the “Application”) pursuant to section 144 of the Act to vary the Hollinger MCTO solely to permit the sale by the Applicants of up to 200,000 common shares of Hollinger for the purposes of the payment by Argus of dividends on its Class A Preference Shares and Class B Preference Shares and its operational expenses (the “Requested Relief”);

TAKE NOTICE that the Commission will hold a hearing pursuant to section 144 of the Act at the Commission’s offices at 20 Queen Street West, 17th Floor Hearing Room, Toronto, Ontario commencing on Thursday the 21 st day of April, 2005 at 10:00 a.m. or as soon as possible after that time to consider whether, in the Commission’s opinion, the Requested Relief would not be prejudicial to the public interest;

AND TAKE FURTHER NOTICE that the hearing before the Commission scheduled to commence on Thursday the 21 st day of April, 2005 at 10:00 a.m. is for the purpose of hearing the merits of the Application and for the purpose of addressing any application that may be brought by any person seeking intervenor standing in the hearing before the Commission to consider the Application described above, the manner in which the Application will be heard, and the time limits to be imposed on the arguments of all parties;

AND TAKE FURTHER NOTICE that any person seeking intervenor standing must file an application for standing with the Secretary’s Office by 10:00 a.m. on Monday, April 18, 2005, together with any other materials or written submissions that person seeks to file with the Commission in respect of the application for standing and the merits of the Application;

BY REASON OF the application record filed by the Applicants with the Office of the Secretary of the Ontario Securities Commission on Tuesday the 12 th day of April 2005;

AND TAKE FURTHER NOTICE that any party to the proceedings may be represented by counsel if he or she attends or submits evidence at the hearing;

AND TAKE FURTHER NOTICE upon failure of any party to attend at the time and place set for the hearing, the hearing may proceed in the absence of that party and the party is not entitled to any further notice of the proceeding.


DATED at Toronto , this 13th day of April, 2005.


Ontario Securities Commission
Secretary to the Commission


Schedule “A”


509643 N.B. Inc.
509644 N.B. Inc.
509645 N.B. Inc.
509646 N.B. Inc.
509647 N.B. Inc.
1269940 Ontario Limited
2753421 Canada Limited
Amiel Black, Barbara
Argus Corporation Limited
Atkinson, Peter Y.
Black, Conrad M. (Lord)
Boultbee, J. A.
Burt, The Hon. Richard
Carroll, Paul A.
Colson, Daniel W.
Conrad Black Capital Corporation
Cowan, Charles G.
Creasey, Frederick A.
Cruickshank, John
Deedes, Jeremy
Delorme, Monique L.
Dodd, David
Duckworth, Claire F.
Healy, Paul B.
Kipnis, Mark
Kissinger, The Hon. Henry A.
Lane, Peter K.
Loye, Linda
Maida, Joan
Marler, Jonathan H.


McCarthy, Helen
Meitar, Shmuel
Metcalfe, Robert J.
O’Donnell-Keenan, Niamh
Paris, Gordon
Perle, The Hon. Richard N.
Radler, F. David
Richardson, James A.
Rohmer, Richard, OC, QC
Ross, Sherrie L.
Samila, Tatiana
Savage, Graham
Seitz, The Hon. Raymond G.H.
Smith, Robert T.
Stevenson, Mark
The Ravelston Corporation Limited
Thompson, The Hon. James R.
Tyrrell, Robert Emmett
Vale, Donald M.J.
Van Horn, James R.
Wakefield, Allan
Walker, Gordon W.
White, Peter G.