Proceedings

News Release

Ontario Securities
Commission


20 Queen St. W.
Box 55, Suite 1900
Toronto, ON M5H 3S8
Commission des valeurs mobilières de l'Ontario
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

May 4, 2011


Abraham Herbert Grossman and Hanoch Ulfan Each Sentenced to 21 Months
in Jail for Breaching Ontario Securities Act


TORONTO – Justice Sparrow of the Ontario Court of Justice today sentenced Abraham Herbert Grossman and Hanoch Ulfan each to 21 months in jail and two years of probation for breaches of the Securities Act (Ontario) (the Act). Under the terms of the probation orders, Mr. Grossman and Mr. Ulfan are prohibited from trading in securities for a two-year period and are to report monthly to a probation officer. Maitland Capital Inc. (Maitland) was also fined $1 million for breaches of the Act.

On March 24, 2011, following a trial pursuant to the quasi-criminal prosecution provisions of the Act, Justice Sparrow found Mr. Grossman and Mr. Ulfan guilty of running a “boiler room” operation, which raised approximately $5.5 million by selling Maitland shares through high pressure telephone sales tactics to investors throughout Canada and in other countries.

Mr. Grossman and Mr. Ulfan were each sentenced to a total of 21 months in jail for trading in securities without registration, trading in securities without a prospectus, giving prohibited undertakings regarding the future value of Maitland shares, making prohibited representations regarding Maitland being listed on a stock exchange in the future and making misleading statements in a document filed with the Ontario Securities Commission (OSC). As directors and officers of Maitland, Mr. Grossman and Mr. Ulfan were sentenced on a further four counts of breaching the Act.

Maitland was sentenced to a fine of $1 million for trading in securities without registration, trading in securities without a prospectus, giving prohibited undertakings regarding the future value of Maitland Capital shares, making prohibited representations regarding Maitland Capital Inc. listing on a stock exchange in the future and making misleading statements.

Mr. Grossman, Mr. Ulfan, Maitland and others continue to be subject to cease trade orders originally issued by the OSC on January 24, 2006. These cease trade orders and other documents related to this matter are available on the OSC website at www.osc.gov.on.ca.

The mandate of the OSC is to provide protection to investors from unfair, improper or fraudulent practices and to foster fair and efficient capital markets and confidence in capital markets. Investors are urged to check the registration of any person or company offering an investment opportunity and to review the OSC’s investor materials available at www.osc.gov.on.ca.


-30-


For Media Inquiries:     Wendy Dey
Director, Communications & Public Affairs
416-593-8120

Carolyn Shaw-Rimmington
Manager, Public Affairs
416-593-2361

Dylan Rae
Media Relations Specialist
416-595-8934

For Investor Inquiries:     OSC Contact Centre
416-593-8314
1-877-785-1555 (Toll Free)

Instances

Communiqué

Ontario Securities
Commission


20, rue Queen Ouest
C.P. 55, bureau 1900
Toronto (Ontario) M5H 3S8
Commission des valeurs mobilières de l'Ontario
POUR DIFFUSION IMMÉDIATE

Le 4 mai 2011


Abraham Herbert Grossman et Hanoch Ulfan sont chacun condamnés
à une peine d'emprisonnement de 21 mois pour avoir enfreint
la Loi sur les valeurs mobilières de l'Ontario


TORONTO – Le juge Sparrow de la Cour de justice de l'Ontario a condamné aujourd'hui Abraham Herbert Grossman et Hanoch Ulfan à une peine d'emprisonnement de 21 mois et à une période de probation de deux ans pour des infractions à la Loi sur les valeurs mobilières de l'Ontario (la Loi). En vertu des conditions des ordonnances de probation, MM. Grossman et Ulfan n'ont plus le droit de négocier des valeurs mobilières pendant une période de deux ans et doivent se présenter chaque mois à un agent de probation. Maitland Capital Inc. (Maitland) a également été condamnée à verser une amende de 1 million de dollars pour avoir enfreint la Loi.

Le 24 mars 2011, à la suite d'un procès intenté en vertu des dispositions de la Loi sur les poursuites quasi criminelles, le juge Sparrow a déclaré MM. Grossman et Ulfan coupables d'avoir exploité une opération de vente sous pression, qui a réuni environ 5,5 millions de dollars par la vente d'actions de Maitland au moyen de tactiques de télévente sous pression à des investisseurs du Canada et d'autres pays.

MM. Grossman et Ulfan ont chacun été condamnés à une peine totale d'emprisonnement de 21 mois pour avoir effectué des opérations sur valeurs mobilières sans être inscrits et sans avoir déposé de prospectus, fait des promesses interdites à l'égard de la valeur future des actions de Maitland, fait des déclarations interdites à l'effet que Maitland s'inscrirait en bourse dans l'avenir et fait des déclarations trompeuses dans un document déposé auprès de la Commission des valeurs mobilières de l'Ontario (CVMO). À titre d'administrateurs et de dirigeants de Maitland, MM. Grossman et Ulfan ont été condamnés en vertu de quatre autres chefs d'accusation d'infraction à la Loi.

Maitland a été condamnée à verser une amende de 1 million de dollars pour avoir effectué des opérations sur valeurs mobilières sans être inscrite et sans avoir déposé de prospectus, fait des promesses interdites à l'égard de la valeur future des actions de Maitland Capital, fait des déclarations interdites à l'effet que Maitland Capital s'inscrirait en bourse dans l'avenir et fait des déclarations trompeuses.

M. Grossman, M. Ulfan, Maitland et d'autres personnes continuent de faire l'objet d'ordonnances d'interdiction d'opérations initialement rendues par la CVMO le 24 janvier 2006. Ces ordonnances d'interdiction d'opérations et d'autres documents liés à cette affaire sont accessibles sur le site Web de la CVMO à l'adresse www.osc.gov.on.ca.

La CVMO a pour mandat de protéger les investisseurs contre les pratiques déloyales, irrégulières ou frauduleuses et de favoriser des marchés financiers justes et efficaces en plus de promouvoir la confiance en ceux-ci. Nous invitons les investisseurs à vérifier l'inscription de toute personne ou société offrant des occasions de placement et à consulter le matériel d'information de la CVMO à l'intention des investisseurs accessible à l'adresse www.osc.gov.on.ca.


-30-


Renseignements, médias:     Wendy Dey
Directrice des communications et des affaires publiques
416-593-8120

Carolyn Shaw-Rimmington
Chef de service, Affaires publiques
416-593-2361

Dylan Rae
Spécialiste des relations avec les médias
416-595-8934

Renseignements, investisseurs:     InfoCentre de la CVMO
416-593-8314
1-877-785-1555 (sans frais)