Proceedings

Notice from the
Office of the Secretary
Ontario

Ontario Securities
Commission


20 Queen St. W.
Box 55, Suite 1900
Toronto, ON M5H 3S8
Commission des valeurs mobilières de l'Ontario
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

December 18, 2012


OSC Officially Launches Litigation Assistance Program for
Unrepresented Respondents



TORONTO – The Ontario Securities Commission (Commission), as the regulatory body responsible for overseeing the capital markets in Ontario, administers and enforces the Securities Act (Ontario) and the Commodity Futures Act (Ontario) and certain provisions of the Business Corporations Act (Ontario). The mandate of the Commission is to provide protection to investors from unfair, improper or fraudulent practices and to foster fair and efficient capital markets and confidence in their integrity.

The profession is advised that commencing on Thursday, October 18, 2012, the Commission will officially launch the OSC Litigation Assistance Program (the “Program”). The program is designed to provide duty counsel services to self-represented respondents who are involved in enforcement proceedings before the Commission. The Commission approved the Program following the successful completion of a one-year pilot project.

As part of the Program, volunteer counsel will provide legal services to self-represented respondents during the following stages of proceedings before the Commission: (i) pre-hearing conferences; (ii) settlement conferences and/or settlement hearing; (iii) sanctions and costs hearing and / or (iv) on an exceptional basis, motions. The volunteer counsel will be private practitioners entirely independent of the Commission.

The representation provided by volunteer counsel will follow a duty counsel model, with representation being limited to the four above-noted stages. Subject to the availability of volunteer counsel, any interested self-represented respondent will be eligible to receive assistance under the Program.

The Program will be administered through the Office of the Secretary to the Commission. More detailed information on the Program is available on the Commission’s website at www.osc.gov.on.ca

 

OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY
JOHN P. STEVENSON
SECRETARY

 

- 30 -

 

For media inquiries:
media_inquiries@osc.gov.on.ca

Carolyn Shaw-Rimmington
Manager, Public Affairs
416-593-2361

Alison Ford
Media Relations Specialist
416-593-8307

For Investor Inquiries: OSC Contact Centre
416-593-8314
1-877-785-1555 (Toll Free)

Instances

Avis du
Bureau du secrétaire
Ontario

Ontario Securities
Commission


220, rue Queen Ouest
C.P. 55, bureau 1900
Toronto (Ontario) M5H 3S8

Commission des valeurs mobilières de l'Ontario
POUR DIFFUSION IMMÉDIATE

 18 décembre 2012


La CVMO lance officiellement le programme d'aide en matière de procédure destiné aux
intimés non représentés par avocat



TORONTO – À titre d'organisme de réglementation responsable de la supervision des marchés financiers de l'Ontario, la Commission des valeurs mobilières de l'Ontario (la Commission) administre et applique la Loi sur les valeurs mobilières et la Loi sur les contrats à terme sur marchandises de l'Ontario ainsi que certaines dispositions de la Loi sur les sociétés par actions de l'Ontario. La Commission a pour mandat de protéger les investisseurs contre les pratiques déloyales, irrégulières ou frauduleuses et de favoriser des marchés financiers justes et efficaces et la confiance en ceux-ci.

Les membres de la profession sont avisés qu'à partir du jeudi 18 octobre 2012, la Commission lancera officiellement le programme d'aide en matière de procédure de la CVMO (le « programme »). Ce dernier est conçu pour mettre un avocat de service à la disposition des intimés qui se représentent eux-mêmes dans le cadre d'instances d'application de la loi devant la Commission. La CVMO a approuvé le programme à la suite de la réussite d'un programme pilote de un an.

Dans le cadre du programme, les intimés qui se représentent eux-mêmes bénéficieront des services juridiques d'un avocat bénévole au cours des étapes suivantes des instances devant la Commission : i) les conférences préparatoires à l'audience; ii) les conférences de règlement et (ou) l'audience de règlement; iii) l'audience relative aux sanctions et aux dépens et (ou) iv) les motions sur une base exceptionnelle. Les avocats bénévoles seront des praticiens du secteur privé entièrement indépendants de la Commission.

Les avocats bénévoles représenteront les intimés suivant le modèle des avocats de service et la représentation se limitera aux quatre étapes mentionnées ci-dessus. Sous réserve de la disponibilité d'un avocat bénévole, tout intimé qui se représente lui-même aura droit à l'aide dispensée en vertu du programme.

Le programme sera administré par le bureau du secrétaire de la Commission. On trouvera de plus amples renseignements au sujet du programme sur le site Web de la Commission à l'adresse www.osc.gov.on.ca

 

OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY
JOHN P. STEVENSON
SECRETARY

 

- 30 -

 

Renseignements, médias : media_inquiries@osc.gov.on.ca Alison Ford
Spécialiste des relations avec les médias
416 593-8307

Follow us on Twitter: OSC_News

Renseignements, investisseurs : InfoCentre de la CVMO
416 593-8314
1 877 785-1555 (sans frais)