Investors

PDF Version

PDF Version



ONTARIO SECURITIES COMMISSION NOTICE
OSC INVESTOR ADVISORY PANEL REQUEST FOR APPLICATIONS



July 12, 2012

The Ontario Securities Commission (OSC or Commission) is inviting applications for membership on its Investor Advisory Panel. The Panel was created on August 30, 2010 and currently has three vacancies to replace members who elected not to serve for a second term. 

The Panel provides an investor perspective on the policy- and rule-making process of the Commission. This notice describes the Panel’s overall purpose and the application and selection process for members. 

Mandate

The Panel provides comments in response to public requests for comment by the Commission on proposed rules, policies and discussion drafts. The Panel also provides commentary on the OSC’s proposed annual Statement of Priorities and considers specific issues at the request of the Commission. 

The Panel’s Terms of Reference are also available on the Investor Advisory Panel section of the OSC website. 

Fulfilling the mandate

The Panel consults with and seeks input from investors and organizations representing investors. The Panel receives funding of up to $50,000 per year for consultation and for professional services to assist in drafting comment letters, if required. 

Since its formation, the Panel has submitted ten comment letters to the Commission which are posted on the website. 

At present, the Panel has administrative support through the Office of the Secretary to the Commission. The Office of the Secretary to the Commission currently serves as the general liaison between the Panel and the Commission and serves as the Secretary to the Panel.

Going forward, the OSC’s Strategic Plan outlines the creation the Office of the Investor which will establish direct links with the Panel.

The Panel meets at least quarterly in Toronto. It reports annually to the Commission on its activities for the preceding year, which includes a written Annual Report and presentation by the Panel Chair to the Commission.

The Commission reviews the activities and mandate of the Panel periodically and may amend, affirm or rescind the mandate following its review.

Composition

Consistent with its first period of operation, the Panel will consist of seven members, including a Chair of the Panel, with a range of relevant experience, skills, knowledge and perspectives. 

Members of the Panel will serve a term of two years, which may be extended by the Chair of the Commission for one additional term. 

Compensation

Panel members will be compensated for their time and effort in meeting the Panel’s mandate as follows: 

  • Attending meetings of the Panel: $275 per meeting for members; $550 per meeting for the Chair of the Panel; up to a maximum of 12 meetings per year.
  • Meeting preparation or post-meeting follow-up work: $275 per day for members; $550 per day for the Chair of the Panel; up to a maximum of three days work per meeting for members and up to a maximum of five days work per meeting for the Chair.
  • Travel and other expenses, subject to certain limits.

Qualifications and Experience

Panel members must have a working knowledge of capital markets and the Commission’s regulatory responsibilities. They should also have a specific skill set from the list below that would assist the Panel in fulfilling its primary mandate and a demonstrated ability to be a productive member of a collaborative team. 

Panel members should have qualifications, skills or experience in one or more of the following areas: 

  • Involvement in a community-based organization with a demonstrated commitment to advancing public policy, preferably relating to the financial well-being of Ontarians;
  • Involvement in an investor or consumer association with experience representing views of Ontarians;
  • Professionals with experience advising investors, such as lawyer or accountant;
  • Institutional investors from the pension sector or other buy side;
  • Household financial advisers; or
  • Market or academic researchers.

Weight will be given to individuals with a demonstrated ability to consult with Ontarians to support the Panel’s mandate of consulting with and seeking input from investors and organizations representing investors.

The Chair of the Panel should have the following additional qualifications:

  • Leadership in one or more of the following areas: investor or consumer issues, shareholder rights, securities law reform, investor education or public policy;
  • A thorough understanding of the capital markets, the Commission’s regulatory responsibilities, and securities regulation and policies;
  • Strong interpersonal skills, including demonstrated ability to effectively manage the Panel’s mandate and deliver collaborative work products; and
  • Represent the views of the Panel in the media and to its stakeholders.

All Panel members must be able to meet the time commitments required by the Panel’s work and have flexibility to meet during business hours in downtown Toronto.

Selection Process

Panel members will be selected in part to ensure that the Panel reasonably represents a broad range of investors. A selection committee consisting of two Part-time Commissioners and a Vice-Chair will interview short-listed candidates. The Chair of the Commission will appoint the Panel members based on the recommendations of the selection committee. Once the members have been selected, the Chair of the Commission will select a Chair of the Panel from the incumbent members.

When the new members of the Panel have been selected, the Commission will publish a notice in the OSC Bulletin and on its website.

How to Apply

Apply in writing indicating your qualifications, skills and areas of relevant experience. You may also attach your resume. Submit your application by August 17, 2012 to:

Allan Krystie – Senior Administrator, Investor Advisory Panel
Ontario Securities Commission
20 Queen Street West
Suite 1900, Box 55
Toronto, Ontario M5H 3S8
Fax: (416) 593-2318
E-mail: akrystie@osc.gov.on.ca

Collection and Use of Personal Information

The personal information requested as part of the application process is being collected and used by the OSC to evaluate the suitability of all potential candidates for appointment by the Chair of the OSC to the OSC’s Investor Advisory Panel. Our authority for collecting personal information comes from section 3.11 of the Securities Act (Ontario).

Additional personal information may be required from candidates who are considered for appointment to the Panel. Candidates who are short-listed will be contacted to confirm their interest and, at that time, will be asked to provide the names of three contact persons who can provide references. They may also be asked to provide additional disclosure with respect to potential conflicts of interest.

Personal information may also be collected from the organizations referred to in the candidate’s application and from the references that have been provided. This information will only be used to evaluate candidates’ suitability and to verify the information they have provided.

Questions

Please direct any questions relating to the application process or the collection, use or disclosure of personal information requested as part the application process to Allan Krystie, Senior Administrator, Investor Advisory Panel, at akrystie@osc.gov.on.ca. 

The Ontario Securities Commission is committed to equal opportunity. We encourage applications from qualified women, men, visible minorities, aboriginal peoples, and persons with disabilities.

Investisseurs


AVIS DE LA COMMISSION DES VALEURS MOBILIÈRES DE L'ONTARIO
APPEL DE CANDIDATURES POUR LE GROUPE CONSULTATIF DES INVESTISSEURS DE LA CVMO



Le 12 juillet 2012

La Commission des valeurs mobilières de l'Ontario (la CVMO ou la Commission) sollicite des candidatures pour son Groupe consultatif des investisseurs (le Groupe). Créé le 30 août 2010, le Groupe a actuellement trois postes à pourvoir afin de remplacer les membres qui ont choisi de ne pas siéger pour un deuxième mandat.

Le Groupe offre la perspective des investisseurs à l'égard du processus d'établissement des règles et des politiques de la Commission. Le présent avis décrit l'objectif général du Groupe ainsi que le processus d'appel de candidatures et de sélection des membres.  

Mandat

Le Groupe formule des observations en réponse aux demandes de commentaires de la Commission concernant les projets de règles et de politiques et les versions provisions des documents de discussion. Le Groupe formule en outre des commentaires sur la proposition d'énoncé annuel des priorités de la CVMO et se penche sur des questions particulières à la demande de la Commission.  

Les attributions du Groupe peuvent également être consultées dans la section Groupe consultatif des investisseurs du site Web de la CVMO.  

Réalisation du mandat

Le Groupe consulte des investisseurs et des organismes représentant les investisseurs en vue d'obtenir leurs commentaires. Il bénéficie d'un financement pouvant atteindre 50 000 $ par année pour obtenir des services consultatifs et professionnels en vue de l'aider à rédiger des lettres de commentaires, au besoin.  

Depuis sa création, le Groupe a soumis dix lettres de commentaires à la Commission qui sont publiées sur le site Web.  

À l'heure actuelle, le Groupe bénéficie du soutien administratif du Bureau du secrétaire de la Commission. Le Bureau agit présentement à titre d'agent de liaison général entre le Groupe et la Commission et également à titre de secrétaire du Groupe.  

Pour l'avenir, le plan stratégique de la CVMO précise la création du bureau de l'investisseur, qui servira de lien direct avec le Groupe.

Le Groupe se réunit au moins une fois tous les trimestres, à Toronto. Il présente un rapport chaque année à la Commission sur ses activités de l'année précédente, qui comprend un rapport écrit et une présentation du président du Groupe à la Commission.

La Commission examine périodiquement les activités et le mandat du Groupe et peut modifier, confirmer ou révoquer le mandat à la suite de son examen.

Composition

Comme pour sa première période d'activités, le Groupe sera formé de sept membres, dont un président, possédant une expérience pertinente ainsi que des compétences, des connaissances et des perspectives variées.

Les membres du Groupe siégeront pour un mandat de deux ans, que le président de la Commission pourra prolonger de deux années supplémentaires.

Rémunération

Les membres seront rémunérés pour le temps ainsi que les efforts qu'ils consacrent à la réalisation du mandat du Groupe, de la façon suivante :

  • participation aux réunions du Groupe : 275 $ par rencontre pour les membres et 550 $ par rencontre pour le président, jusqu'à concurrence de 12 rencontres par année;
  • préparation des réunions et travail de suivi : 275 $ par jour pour les membres et 550 $ par jour pour le président, jusqu'à concurrence de 3 jours de travail par réunion pour les membres et jusqu'à concurrence de 5 jours de travail par réunion pour le président;
  • déplacements et autres dépenses, sous réserve de certaines limites.

Qualifications

Les membres du Groupe doivent avoir une connaissance pratique des marchés financiers et des responsabilités de la Commission en matière de réglementation. Ils devraient en outre posséder un ensemble de compétences particulières, énuméré ci-dessous, qui aiderait le Groupe à remplir son mandat principal et une aptitude avérée à travailler de façon productive au sein d’une équipe.

Les membres du Groupe devraient avoir des compétences ou de l'expérience dans au moins un des domaines suivants :

  • membre d'un organisme communautaire ayant démontré son engagement à promouvoir l'intérêt public, préférablement en matière de bien-être financier des Ontariens;
  • membre d'une association de consommateurs ou d'investisseurs ayant de l'expérience en matière de présentation du point de vue des Ontariens;
  • professionnel ayant de l'expérience dans le secteur des conseils aux investisseurs, comme un avocat ou un comptable;
  • investisseur institutionnel du secteur des régimes de retraite ou d'un autre secteur client;
  • conseiller financier auprès des particuliers;
  • chercheur universitaire ou responsable d'études de marché.

Seront avantagées les personnes ayant démontré leur aptitude à consulter les Ontariens en vue d'appuyer le mandat du Groupe en matière de consultation des investisseurs et des organismes représentant les investisseurs pour obtenir leurs commentaires.

Le président du Groupe devrait également posséder les qualifications suivantes :

  • faire preuve de leadership dans l'un ou plusieurs des domaines suivants : les questions relatives aux consommateurs ou aux investisseurs, les droits des actionnaires, la réforme du droit des valeurs mobilières, l'éducation des investisseurs ou la politique publique;
  • avoir une compréhension approfondie des marchés financiers, des responsabilités de la Commission en matière de réglementation de même que des politiques et des règlements sur les valeurs mobilières;
  • posséder de fortes aptitudes en matière de relations interpersonnelles et capacité avérée de gérer de façon efficace le mandat du Groupe et d'apporter des résultats découlant d'un travail de collaboration;
  • représenter le point de vue du Groupe dans les médias et auprès des intervenants.

Tous les membres doivent être en mesure de consacrer le temps nécessaire aux travaux du Groupe et avoir la souplesse de participer aux réunions au centre-ville de Toronto durant les heures de travail.

Processus de sélection

Les membres du Groupe seront notamment choisis de manière que le Groupe représente un vaste éventail d'investisseurs. Un comité de sélection composé de deux commissionnaires à temps partiel et d'un vice-président fera passer des entrevues aux candidats présélectionnés. Le président de la Commission nommera les membres en fonction des recommandations du comité de sélection. Une fois les membres choisis, le président de la Commission sélectionnera le président du Groupe parmi les membres en place.

Une fois les nouveaux membres du Groupe choisis, la Commission publiera un avis dans le Bulletin de la CVMO ainsi que sur son site Web.

Comment postuler

Postulez par écrit en prenant soin d'indiquer vos qualifications, vos compétences ainsi que toute expérience pertinente. Vous pouvez également joindre votre curriculum vitæ. Envoyez votre candidature d'ici le 17 août 2012 à :

Allan Krystie – Administrateur principal, Groupe consultatif des investisseurs
Commission des valeurs mobilières de l'Ontario
20, rue Queen Ouest
Bureau 1900, C.P. 55
Toronto (Ontario) M5H 3S8
Télécopieur : 416 593-2318
Courriel : akrystie@osc.gov.on.ca

Collecte et utilisation des renseignements personnels

Les renseignements personnels demandés dans le cadre du processus d'appel de candidatures sont recueillis et utilisés par la CVMO dans le but d'évaluer les candidats potentiels qui seront éventuellement nommés par le président de la CVMO au Groupe consultatif des investisseurs. L'autorisation de recueillir des renseignements personnels découle de l'article 3.11 de la Loi sur les valeurs mobilières de l'Ontario.

Des renseignements personnels supplémentaires pourront être demandés aux candidats dont nous envisageons la nomination au sein du Groupe. Nous communiquerons avec les candidats présélectionnés pour confirmer leur intérêt et leur demander, à cette occasion, de nous fournir le nom de trois personnes pouvant nous donner des références. De plus, il est possible qu'ils doivent fournir de l'information supplémentaire concernant les conflits d'intérêts potentiels.

Des renseignements personnels pourront en outre être recueillis auprès des organismes mentionnés dans le document de candidature et des références fournies. Ces renseignements serviront seulement à évaluer les candidats et à vérifier l'information qu'ils ont fournie.

Questions

Si vous avez des questions concernant le processus d'appel de candidatures ou la collecte, l'utilisation ou la divulgation des renseignements personnels demandés dans le cadre du processus, veuillez communiquer avec Allan Krystie, administrateur principal, Groupe consultatif des investisseurs à l'adresse akrystie@osc.gov.on.ca.

La Commission des valeurs mobilières de l'Ontario s'est engagée à souscrire au principe de l'égalité d'accès à l'emploi. Nous invitons les femmes, les hommes, les membres des minorités visibles, les personnes handicapées et les Autochtones qualifiés à poser leur candidature.