Securities Law & Instruments



The Securities Advisory Committee ("SAC") is a committee of industry experts established by the Commission to advise it and its staff on a variety of matters including policy initiatives and capital markets trends. The Commission seeks four prospective candidates to serve on SAC beginning in January 2018 for a three-year term ending December 2020. There is a one-third turnover of SAC membership each calendar year.

SAC members will generally meet every other month and provide advice on a variety of matters, including legal and regulatory initiatives, as well as market implications of Commission rules, policies, operations, and administration. SAC members are also invited to provide their perspectives on emerging trends in the marketplace. Those who make a commitment to serve on SAC must be in a position to devote the time necessary to attend meetings and be an active participant at those meetings.

SAC members are expected to have excellent technical abilities and a strong interest in the development of securities regulatory policy. This includes having in-depth knowledge of the legislation and policies for which the Commission is responsible, as well as a significant practice and experience in the securities field. Expertise in an area of special interest to the Commission at the time of an appointment will also be a factor in selection. Diversification of membership on SAC continues to be a Commission priority in order to promote a broad perspective on the development of securities regulatory policy. In addition to candidates engaged in private practice, we continue to welcome the submission of applications from in-house counsel practicing in the securities area at an exchange, institutional investor or dealer.

Qualified individuals who have the support of their firms/employers for the commitment required to effectively participate on SAC, are invited to apply in writing for membership on SAC to the General Counsel’s Office of the Commission, indicating areas of practice and relevant experience. Prospective candidates are encouraged to review OSC Policy 11-601 for further information about SAC.

SAC members whose terms continue past December 2017 are:


Jeffrey Meade

TD Bank Group


Rhonda Goldberg

IGM Financial Inc.


Julie Shin

Toronto Stock Exchange


Ron Schwass

Wildeboer Dellelce LLP


Thomas Fenton

Aird & Berlis LLP


Eric Moncik

Blake, Cassels & Graydon LLP


Ramandeep Grewal

Stikeman Elliott LLP


Thomas Yeo

Torys LLP

The Commission wishes to thank the following members whose terms will expire at the end of December 2017:


Sheldon Freeman

Goodmans LLP


Mindy Gilbert

Davies Ward Phillips & Vineberg LLP


Blair Cowper-Smith

OMERS Administration Corporation


Kathleen Ritchie

Gowling WLG

The Commission is very grateful to outgoing members for their able assistance and valuable input.

Applications for SAC membership will be considered if received on or before November 24, 2017. Applications should be submitted by email to:

James Sinclair
General Counsel
Ontario Securities Commission
20 Queen Street West, 22th Floor
Toronto, Ontario, M5H 3S8
Tel: (416) 263-3870