Securities Law & Instruments

PDF Version
PDF Version


In a Notice published in the OSC Bulletin on September 25, 2009, the Commission invited applications for positions on the Securities Advisory Committee ("SAC"). SAC provides advice to the Commission and staff on a variety of matters including legislative and policy initiatives and important capital markets trends and brings various issues to the attention of the Commission and staff.

The members of SAC have staggered terms. Five of the members complete their terms in January 2010. The Commission would like to take this opportunity to thank the outgoing members of SAC, listed below, who have served on the Committee with great dedication over the last two years. Their advice and guidance on a range of issues has been very valuable to the Commission.

Andrew Kingsmill
Bennett Jones LLP
John Macfarlane
Osler, Hoskin & Harcourt LLP
Mark Mandel
White & Case LLP
Alfred Page
Borden Ladner Gervais LLP
Andrew Parker
McCarthy Tétrault LLP

The remaining members of SAC will continue through October 2010.

John Ciardullo
Stikeman Elliott LLP
Pamela Hughes
Blake, Cassels & Graydon LLP
Charlie MacCready
Heenan Blaikie LLP
Vincent Mercier
Davies Ward Phillips & Vineberg LLP
Thomas Smee
Royal Bank of Canada
Jenny Chu Steinberg
Fraser Milner Casgrain LLP
Jennifer Wainwright
Aird & Berlis LLP

The Commission was very impressed with the number of highly qualified practitioners who applied for positions on SAC. Unfortunately, there were more applicants than there were positions available and selection from among the group was very difficult. The Commission would like to thank everyone who applied, for their interest in serving on SAC.

The Commission is pleased to publish the names of those individuals who will be participating on SAC for the next two years.

The new members who will join in February 2010 are:

Georges Dubé
Fasken Martineau DuMoulin LLP
Glen R. Johnson
Torys LLP
Tracey Kernahan
Ogilvy Renault LLP
Michael Padfield
Ontario Teachers' Pension Plan Board
Rob Lando
Osler, Hoskin & Harcourt LLP (New York)

The Commission will publish a notice in mid-2010 inviting applications for the next group of new SAC members, who will commence their terms in November 2010.

Monica Kowal
General Counsel
Tel: (416) 593-3653
Fax: (416) 593-3681

January 15, 2010