Securities Law & Instruments

PDF Version

PDF Version

CSA Staff Notice 13-315 (Revised)
Securities Regulatory Authority Closed Dates 2018*

December 12, 2017

We have a review system for prospectuses (including long form, short form and mutual fund prospectuses), prospectus amendments, pre-filings, and waiver applications. It is described in National Policy 11-202 Process for Prospectus Reviews in Multiple Jurisdictions (NP 11-202).

Under NP 11-202, a filer that receives a receipt from the principal regulator will be deemed to have a receipt in each passport jurisdiction where the prospectus was filed. However, the principal regulator's receipt will only evidence that the Ontario Securities Commission (OSC) has issued a receipt if the OSC is open on the date of the principal regulator's receipt and has indicated that it is "clear for final". If the OSC is not open on the date of the principal regulator's receipt, the principal regulator will issue a second receipt that evidences that the OSC has issued a receipt on the next day that the OSC is open.

The following is a list of the closed dates of the securities regulatory authorities for 2018 and January 2019. Issuers should note these dates in structuring their affairs.

1. Saturdays and Sundays (all)

2. Monday, January 1 (all)

3. Tuesday, January 2 (QC)

4. Monday, February 12 (BC)

5. Monday, February 19 (AB, SK, MB, ON, NB, NS)

6. Friday, February 23 (YT)

7. Monday, March 19 (NL)

8. Friday, March 30 (all)

9. Monday, April 2 (BC, MB, QC, NB, NS, PE, YT, NT)

10. Monday, April 23 (NL)

11. Monday, May 21 (all)

12. Thursday, June 21 (YT, NT)

13. Monday, June 25 (QC, NL)

14. Monday, July 2 (all)

15. Monday, July 9 (NU, NL)

16. Wednesday, August 1 (NL{**})

17. Friday, August 3 (SK)

18. Monday, August 6 (all except QC, NL, PE, YT)

19. Friday, August 17 (PE)

20. Monday, August 20 (YT)

21. Monday, September 3 (all)

22. Monday, October 8 (all)

23. Monday, November 12 (all except AB, ON, QC)

24. Friday, December 21 (NT)

25. Monday, December 24 (QC, NT)

26. Monday, December 24 after 12:00 p.m. (NB, PE, NS), after 1:00 p.m. (BC, YT), after 3:00 p.m. (SK, NU)

27. Tuesday, December 25 (all)

28. Wednesday, December 26 (all)

29. Thursday, December 27 (NT)

30. Friday, December 28 (NT)

31. Monday, December 31 (QC, NT)

32. Monday, December 31 after 12:00 p.m. (NB), after 1:00 p.m. (BC), after 3:00 p.m. (SK, NU)

33. Tuesday, January 1, 2019 (all)

34. Wednesday, January 2, 2019 (QC)

{*} Bracketed information indicates those jurisdictions that are closed on the particular date.

{**} Weather permitting, otherwise observed on the first following acceptable weather day, such determination made on morning of holiday.