Securities Law & Instruments

PDF Version

PDF Version


CSA Staff Notice 13-315 (Revised)
Securities Regulatory Authority Closed Dates 2017*



December 6, 2016

We have a review system for prospectuses (including long form, short form and mutual fund prospectuses), prospectus amendments, pre-filings, and waiver applications. It is described in National Policy 11-202 Process for Prospectus Reviews in Multiple Jurisdictions (NP 11-202).

Under NP 11-202, a filer that receives a receipt from the principal regulator will be deemed to have a receipt in each passport jurisdiction where the prospectus was filed. However, the principal regulator's receipt will only evidence that the Ontario Securities Commission (OSC) has issued a receipt if the OSC is open on the date of the principal regulator's receipt and has indicated that it is "clear for final". If the OSC is not open on the date of the principal regulator's receipt, the principal regulator will issue a second receipt that evidences that the OSC has issued a receipt on the next day that the OSC is open.

The following is a list of the closed dates of the securities regulatoy authorities for 2017 and January 2018. Issuers should note these dates in structuring their affairs.

1.

Saturdays and Sundays (all)

2.

Monday, January 2 (all)

3.

Tuesday, January 3 (QC)

4.

Monday, February 13 (BC)

5.

Monday, February 20 (AB, SK, MB, ON, PE, NS)

6.

Friday, February 24 (YT)

7.

Monday, March 20 (NL)

8.

Friday, April 14 (all)

9.

Monday, April 17 (all except AB, SK, ON)

10.

Monday, May 22 (all)

11.

Wednesday, June 21 (NT)

12.

Friday, June 23 (QC)

13.

Monday, June 26 (NL)

14.

Friday, June 30 (QC)

15.

Monday, July 3 (all except QC)

16.

Monday, July 10 (NU, NL)

17.

Wednesday, August 2 (NL{**})

18.

Friday, August 4 (SK)

19.

Monday, August 7 (all except YT, QC, NL, PE)

20.

Friday, August 18 (PE)

21.

Monday, August 21 (YT)

22.

Monday, September 4 (all)

23.

Monday, October 9 (all)

24.

Monday, November 13 (all except AB, ON, QC)

25.

Friday, December 22 (QC, NT)

26.

Friday, December 22 after 12:00 p.m. (NB, PE, NS), after 1:00 p.m. (YT, BC), after 3:00 p.m. (NU)

27.

Monday, December 25 (all)

28.

Tuesday, December 26 (all)

29.

Friday, December 29 (NT, QC)

30.

Friday, December 29 after 12:00 p.m. (NB), after 1:00 p.m. (BC), after 3:00 p.m. (NU)

31.

Monday, January 1, 2018 (all)

32.

Tuesday, January 2, 2018 (QC)

{*} Bracketed information indicates those jurisdictions that are closed on the particular date.

{**} Weather permitting, otherwise observed on the first following acceptable weather day, such determination made on morning of holiday.