Securities Law & Instruments

PDF Version

PDF Version


CSA Staff Notice 13-315 (Revised) – Securities Regulatory Authority Closed Dates 2016



December 10, 2015

We have a review system for prospectuses (including long form, short form and mutual fund prospectuses), prospectus amendments, pre-filings, and waiver applications. It is described in National Policy 11-202 Process for Prospectus Reviews in Multiple Jurisdictions (NP 11-202).

Under NP 11-202, a filer that receives a receipt from the principal regulator will be deemed to have a receipt in each passport jurisdiction where the prospectus was filed. However, the principal regulator's receipt will only evidence that the OSC has issued a receipt if the OSC is open on the date of the principal regulator's receipt and has indicated that it is "clear for final". If the OSC is not open on the date of the principal regulator's receipt, the principal regulator will issue a second receipt that evidences that the OSC has issued a receipt on the next day that the OSC is open.

The following is a list of the closed dates of the securities regulatory authorities for 2016 and January 2017. Issuers should note these dates in structuring their affairs.

1.

Saturdays and Sundays (all)

 

2.

Friday, January 1 (all)

 

3.

Monday, January 4 (QC)

 

4.

Monday, February 8 (BC)

 

5.

Monday, February 15 (AB, SK, MB, ON, PE, NS)

 

6.

Friday, February 26 (YT)

 

7.

Monday, March 14 (NL)

 

8.

Friday, March 25 (all)

 

9.

Monday, March 28 (all except AB, SK, ON)

 

10.

Monday, May 23 (all)

 

11.

Tuesday, June 21 (NT)

 

12.

Friday, June 24 (QC)

 

13.

Monday, June 27 (NL)

 

14.

Friday, July 1 (all)

 

15.

Monday, July 11 (NU, NL)

 

16.

Friday, July 29 (SK)

 

17.

Monday, August 1 (all except YT, QC, NL, PE)

 

18.

Wednesday, August 3 (NL{**})

 

19.

Monday, August 15 (YT)

 

20.

Friday, August 19 (PE)

 

21.

Monday, September 5 (all)

 

22.

Monday, October 10 (all)

 

23.

Friday, November 11 (all except AB, ON, QC)

 

24.

Friday, December 23 (QC, NT)

 

25.

Friday, December 23 after 12:00 p.m. (NB, PE, NS), after 1:00 p.m. (YT, BC), after 3:00 p.m. (NU)

 

26.

Monday, December 26 (all)

 

27.

Tuesday, December 27 (all)

 

28.

Friday, December 30 (NT, QC)

 

29.

Friday, December 30 after 12:00 p.m. (NB), after 1:00 p.m. (BC), after 3:00 p.m. (NU)

 

30.

Monday, January 2, 2017 (all)

 

31.

Tuesday, January 3, 2017 (QC)

{*} Bracketed information indicates those jurisdictions that are closed on the particular date.

{**} Weather permitting, otherwise observed on the first following acceptable weather day, such determination made on morning of holiday.