Securities Law & Instruments

PDF Version

PDF Version



CSA Staff Notice 13-315 (Revised)
Securities Regulatory Authority Closed Dates 2014*



January 9, 2014

We have a review system for prospectuses (including long form, short form and mutual fund prospectuses), prospectus amendments, pre-filings, and waiver applications. It is described in National Policy 11-202 Process for Prospectus Reviews in Multiple Jurisdictions (NP 11-202).

Under NP 11-202, a filer that receives a receipt from the principal regulator will be deemed to have a receipt in each passport jurisdiction where the prospectus was filed. However, the principal regulator’s receipt will only evidence that the OSC has issued a receipt if the OSC is open on the date of the principal regulator’s receipt and has indicated that it is “clear for final”. If the OSC is not open on the date of the principal regulator’s receipt, the principal regulator will issue a second receipt that evidences that the OSC has issued a receipt on the next day that the OSC is open.

The following is a list of the closed dates of the securities regulatory authorities for 2014 and January 2015. Issuers should note these dates in structuring their affairs.

  1. Saturdays and Sundays (all)
  2. Wednesday January 1 (all)
  3. Thursday January 2 (QC)
  4. Monday February 10 (BC)
  5. Monday February 17 (AB, SK, MB, ON, PE)
  6. Friday February 21 (YT)
  7. Tuesday March 17 (NL)
  8. Friday April 18 (all)
  9. Monday April 21 (all except AB, SK, ON)
  10. Monday May 19 (all)
  11. Monday June 23 (NL)
  12. Tuesday June 24 (QC)
  13. Monday June 30 (SK)
  14. Tuesday July 1 (all)
  15. Wednesday July 9 (NU)
  16. Monday July 14 (NL)
  17. Monday August 4 (all except YT, QC, NL, PE)
  18. Wednesday August 6 (NL**)
  19. Friday August 15 (PE)
  20. Monday August 18 (YT)
  21. Monday September 1 (all)
  22. Monday October 13 (all)
  23. Tuesday November 11 (all except AB, ON, QC)
  24. Wednesday December 24 (QC, NT)
  25. Wednesday December 24 after 12:00 p.m. (AB, NB, PE, NS), after 1:00 p.m. (YT, BC, MB), after 3:00 p.m. (NU)
  26. Thursday December 25 (all)
  27. Friday December 26 (all)
  28. Wednesday December 31 (NT, QC)
  29. Wednesday December 31 after 12:00 p.m. (NB), after 1:00 p.m. (BC), after 3:00 p.m. (NU)
  30. Thursday January 1, 2015 (all)
  31. Friday January 2, 2015 (QC)


*Bracketed information indicates those jurisdictions that are closed on the particular date.
**Weather permitting, otherwise observed on the first following acceptable weather day, such determination made on morning of holiday.