Securities Law & Instruments

PDF Version
PDF Version



The Commission formally established the Securities Advisory Committee to the Commission ("SAC") many years ago. SAC meets on a regular basis, generally monthly, and provides advice to the Commission and staff on a variety of matters including policy initiatives and capital markets trends. SAC also provides advice and comments on legal, regulatory and market implications of any aspect of Commission rules, policies, operations, and administration. In addition, SAC is expected to provide general advisory services to the Commission and staff on an informal basis relating to emerging trends in the marketplace. The Commission is now looking for seven prospective candidates to serve on SAC for a two-year term beginning in November 2008.

Those who make a commitment to serve on SAC must be in a position to devote the time necessary to attend meetings, be an active participant, and undertake the work involved, which sometimes must be dealt with on an urgent basis. SAC members must have an excellent knowledge of the legislation and policies for which the Commission is responsible, and have significant practice experience in the securities area. Expertise in an area of special interest to the Commission at the time an appointment is made will also be a factor in selection. SAC members are expected to have excellent technical abilities and a strong interest in the development of securities regulatory policy. The Prospective candidates are encouraged to review OSC Policy 11-601 for further information about SAC.

Individual practitioners, with the support of their firms/employers, are invited to apply in writing for membership on SAC to the Office of the General Counsel of the Commission, indicating areas of practice and relevant experience.

SAC's membership currently consists of eleven Ontario solicitors practising in the area of securities law plus one U.S. securities lawyer. SAC members whose terms continue through January 2010 are:

Andrew Kingsmill
Bennett Jones Toronto
John Macfarlane
Osler, Hoskin & Harcourt LLP
Mark Mandel
White & Case LLP
Alfred Page
Borden Ladner Gervais LLP
Andrew Parker
McCarthy Térault LLP

The Commission wishes to thank the following members whose terms will expire at the end of October 2008:

Mark Convery
Ogilvy Renault LLP
Carol Hansell
Davies Ward Phillips & Vineberg LLP
Glen R. Johnson
Torys LLP
Lonnie Kirsh
Kutkevicius Kirsh LLP
Margaret Nelligan
Aird & Berlis LLP
David Valentine
Blake, Cassels & Graydon LLP
Gina Yee
Scotia Capital Inc.

The Commission is very grateful to outgoing members for their able assistance and valuable input.

Applications for SAC membership will be considered if received on or before September 5, 2008. Applications should be submitted in writing to:

Monica Kowal
General Counsel
Tel: (416) 593-3653
Fax: (416) 593-3681
Ontario Securities Commission
20 Queen Street West
19th Floor, Box 55
Toronto, Ontario
M5H 3S8

July 25, 2008