Disclaimer

The information on this webpage and the information and other content found on this webpage (Site Content), is provided as a non-commercial public service for non-commercial, educational and informational purposes only. The Site Content is not intended to provide investment, financial, accounting, legal, tax or other professional advice and should not be relied upon or regarded as a substitute for such advice. We recommend that you seek advice from a qualified professional advisor before acting on any information or other content appearing on the OSC Website or any website to which it may be linked.

What is the exempt market?

The "exempt market" describes a section of Canada’s capital markets where securities can be sold without the protections associated with a prospectus. Examples of activity in the exempt market include:

  • Canadian and foreign companies, both public and private, selling securities to institutional investors and qualified investors
  • Canadian and foreign hedge funds and pooled funds selling securities to institutional investors and qualified investors

Generally, securities offered to the public in Ontario must be offered under a prospectus, which is a document that provides detailed information about the security and the company offering it. However, there are some exceptions to this rule that allow securities to be offered without a prospectus, called prospectus exemptions.​ These prospectus exemptions can help a company raise money without the time and expense of preparing a prospectus.

Investors who buy securities through prospectus exemptions generally do not have the benefit of ongoing information about the security that they are buying or the company selling it. As well, they often do not have the ability to easily resell the security.

Typically, individuals and firms that sell securities in the exempt market are registered as dealers. For more information about registration, see Who needs to register.

OSC exempt market review

In 2011, the Canadian Securities Administrators initiated a review of the exempt market regulatory regime focused on the accredited investor and minimum amount investment prospectus exemptions. The scope of this review was later broadened by the OSC and resulted in a number of new and amended prospectus exemptions being adopted in Ontario in 2015 and 2016.

View the OSC’s recently published exempt market review infographic.

For further information on the OSC exempt market review, see Exempt Market Publications

What do investors need to know about investing in the exempt market?

Exempt market securities offer investors more choice of products to help them achieve their financial goals, but they should be aware that there are many risks associated with investing in the exempt market.

The OSC Investor Office’s consumer website GetSmarterAboutMoney.ca explains what investors need to know about the exempt market and the risks associated with investing in exempt market securities. Visit GetSmarterAboutMoney.ca to learn more.

How do companies raise capital in the exempt market?

One of the key principles of Ontario securities law is that securities may not be distributed unless a prospectus is filed with and receipted by the OSC. A prospectus is a comprehensive disclosure document that sets out detailed information about the issuer and describes the securities being issued and the risks associated with purchasing those securities.

Companies can take advantage of certain prospectus exemptions to sell securities like debt, equity, asset-backed securities, investment funds and derivatives in the exempt market. (See What are the available prospectus exemptions?)

When securities are sold without a prospectus, certain protections do not apply, such as the right to sue for damages in the event of a misrepresentation. However, exempt distributions may be made on the basis of some form of offering document which will attract liability under section 130.1 of the Securities Act (Ontario) in the event of a misrepresentation.

Any person, company or online portal that is in the business of trading or advising in securities needs to be registered. For more information, see "Who needs to register?".

Resale restrictions

In many cases, a security sold under a prospectus exemption can only be resold if certain conditions are met. These resale conditions are designed to ensure that there is sufficient disclosure available in the marketplace to allow a subsequent purchaser to make an informed investment decision. For more information on resale restrictions, see National Instrument 45-102 Resale of Securities.

Reports of exempt distribution

Companies and underwriters must report certain exempt distributions to the OSC by completing and filing Form 45-106F1 Report of Exempt Distribution (Form 45-106F1) and pay the applicable filing fee. Form 45-106F1 must be filed no later than 10 days after the distribution. Investment funds relying on certain prospectus exemptions have the option of filing Form 45-106F1 on an annual basis, within 30 days of the end of the calendar year.

Form 45-106F1 must be filed electronically for distributions under:

  • section 73.3(2) of the Securities Act (Ontario) [Accredited investor]
  • section 73.5(2) of the Securities Act (Ontario) [Government incentive security]
  • certain prospectus exemptions in National Instrument 45-106 Prospectus Exemptions
  • Multilateral Instrument 45-108 Crowdfunding

New report of exempt distribution (in force as of June 30, 2016)
A new report of exempt distribution, Form 45-106F1, came into force in all CSA jurisdictions, including Ontario, on June 30, 2016. See CSA Notice of Amendments to National Instrument 45-106 Prospectus Exemptions relating to Reports of Exempt Distributions for more information on the new report.

The schedules to the new report must be filed using the Excel templates (Schedule 1 / Schedule 2) developed by the CSA.

For guidance on completing and filing the new report, see CSA Staff Notice 45-308 (Revised) Guidance for Preparing and Filing Reports of Exempt Distribution under National Instrument 45-106 Prospectus Exemptions.

Updates

On July 5, 2016, the OSC delivered to the Minister of Finance for approval an amendment instrument (the Amendment Instrument) that would, in Ontario only, amend National Instrument 45-106 Prospectus Exemptions (NI 45-106). Specifically, the Amendment Instrument amends Form 45-106F1 Report of Exempt Distribution of NI 45-106 to exempt certain foreign issuers from the requirement to identify whether a purchaser is a registrant or an insider of the issuer. The Amendment Instrument and accompanying notice of publication were published in Chapter 5 of the OSC Bulletin and on the OSC website on July 7, 2016. The Amendment Instrument was approved by the Minister of Finance on July 14, 2016 and came into force on July 29, 2016. The other CSA jurisdictions have issued blanket orders to provide the same relief as the Amendment Instrument. A CSA Staff Notice referring to the blanket orders and Amendment Instrument was also published on July 7, 2016.

On September 29, 2016, the CSA re-issued CSA Staff Notice 45-308 (Revised) Guidance for Preparing and Filing Reports of Exempt Distribution. This CSA Staff Notice includes revised guidance to alleviate certain of the concerns expressed by foreign dealers conducting offerings into Canada, as well as Canadian institutional investors, about the certification requirement in the new report of exempt distribution and other related issues. A copy of CSA Staff Notice 45-308 (Revised) highlighting the changes made in response to the comments is also available on the OSC website.



Training sessions


Click here to register for an in-person training session with OSC staff on completing and filing Form 45-106F1 on the OSC's Electronic Filing Portal. The dates and times of upcoming training sessions are listed below. Please note that space is limited and we will send you an email to confirm your registration.

No upcoming sessions

Date Time Location

Exempt market data

Exempt distributions summary

Exempt distribution information has been summarized from Reports of Exempt Distribution (Form 45-106F1) that have been filed with the OSC under National Instrument 45-106 Prospectus Exemptions. The summaries are based on information contained in Reports where Ontario purchasers have been identified.

Note: The summaries posted here are provided for non-commercial, educational and informational purposes only. The summaries are based on information contained in Reports of Exempt Distributions (Form 45-106F1) that have been filed with the OSC through its Electronic Filing Portal. The OSC cannot guarantee that the information in these Reports is accurate, current, or complete, and therefore it cannot guarantee the accuracy, currency or completeness of the posted summaries.


Statistics on Ontario exempt market activity

Exempt market publications

Listed below are publications related to the exempt market.

Reports of exempt distribution


Prospectus exemptions


Background on the OSC exempt market review

Who needs to register?

Individuals, firms or online portals that are in the business of trading or advising in securities are required to register as a dealer or portfolio manager (also known as a “registrant”).

Although there is no requirement for companies to distribute securities through a registrant, in many cases this will be necessary to sell securities in the exempt market. For more information about factors that would indicate that registration as a dealer or adviser is required, click here.

For information about the requirement to get registered, see Dealers, Advisers and Investment Fund Managers - Who Needs to Register.

You can check the registration of the individual or firm you are dealing with at the Check Before You Invest page by clicking here.

For inquiries about registration, or to check the registration status of an individual or firm, please contact the OSC Contact Centre at 416-593-8314 (or toll free at 1-877-785-1555), or by email at inquiries@osc.gov.on.ca. You can also use the Canadian Securities Administrators’ National Registration Search to check the registration of an individual or firm.

What are the available prospectus exemptions?

The prospectus exemptions available to companies are primarily set out in National Instrument 45-106 Prospectus Exemptions. Generally speaking, each exemption is premised on a specific policy rationale that supports not requiring a prospectus in the circumstances.

An overview of the key capital raising prospectus exemptions in Ontario is provided in the Summary of Key Capital Raising Prospectus Exemptions in Ontario (as of January 28, 2016).

Rules - prospectus exemptions

History of prospectus exemptions

Déclaration légale

Les renseignements et tout autre contenu se trouvant sur cette page Web (contenu du site) sont présentés à titre de service public non commercial, uniquement à des fins d'éducation et d'information non commerciales. Le contenu du site ne vise aucunement à fournir des conseils professionnels en matière de placements, de finances, de comptabilité, de droit, de fiscalité ou autre et on ne doit pas s'y fier ou le considérer comme un substitut de tels conseils. Nous vous recommandons de demander l'avis d'un conseiller professionnel compétent avant d'agir sur la foi de tout renseignement ou contenu apparaissant sur le site Web de la CVMO ou sur tout site Web auquel il peut être relié.

Qu'est-ce que le marché dispensé?

Le « marché dispensé » décrit une section des marchés financiers du Canada où des titres peuvent être vendus sans les protections associées à un prospectus. Voici des exemples d'activités sur le marché dispensé :

  • des entreprises canadiennes et étrangères, tant publiques que privées, qui vendent des valeurs mobilières à des investisseurs institutionnels et à des investisseurs qualifiés;
  • des fonds spéculatifs et des fonds communs canadiens et étrangers qui vendent des valeurs mobilières à des investisseurs institutionnels et à des investisseurs qualifiés.

En règle générale, les valeurs mobilières offertes au public en Ontario doivent être proposées en vertu d'un prospectus, qui est un document qui fournit des renseignements détaillés sur le titre et la compagnie qui l'offre. Cependant, il y a quelques exceptions à cette règle qui permettent d'offrir des valeurs mobilières sans prospectus; cette exception s'appelle dispense de prospectus. Ces dispenses de prospectus peuvent aider une compagnie à mobiliser des fonds sans consacrer le temps et les dépenses nécessaires à la préparation d'un prospectus.

En règle générale, les investisseurs qui achètent des titres au moyen d'une dispense de prospectus n'ont pas le privilège de recevoir de l'information continue sur la valeur mobilière qu'ils achètent ou la compagnie qui la vend. En outre, ils n'ont pas la capacité de revendre facilement le titre.

En règle générale, les personnes et les entreprises qui vendent des valeurs mobilières sur le marché dispensé sont inscrites à titre de courtiers. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur l'inscription, consulter à la section Qui est tenu de s'inscrire?

Examen du marché dispensé de la CVMO

En 2011, les Autorités canadiennes en valeurs mobilières ont entrepris un examen du régime réglementaire du marché dispensé axé sur les investisseurs accrédités et des dispenses de prospectus d'investissement relatives au montant minimal. La portée de cet examen a été plus tard élargie par la CVMO et a donné lieu à un certain nombre de dispenses de prospectus nouvelles et modifiées qui ont été adoptées en Ontario en 2015 et en 2016.

Consulter le tableau de l'examen du marché dispensé récemment publié par la CVMO

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur l'examen du marché dispensé de la CVMO, veuillez consulter les publications sur le marché dispensé.

Qu'est-ce les investisseurs doivent savoir au sujet des placements sur le marché dispensé?

Les valeurs mobilières sur le marché dispensé offrent aux investisseurs plus de choix de produits pour les aider à atteindre leurs objectifs financiers, mais les investisseurs doivent savoir qu'il existe de nombreux risques associés à un investissement dans des titres sur le marché dispensé.

Le site Web du consommateur du Bureau des investisseurs de la CVMO GerezMieuxVotreArgent.ca explique ce que les investisseurs doivent savoir sur le marché dispensé et les risques associés aux placements en valeurs mobilières sur le marché dispensé. Consultez le site GerezMieuxVotreArgent.ca pour en savoir plus.

Comment les entreprises mobilisent-elles des fonds sur le marché dispensé?

L'un des principes clés du droit des valeurs mobilières de l'Ontario est que les titres ne peuvent être émis à moins qu'un prospectus ne soit déposé à la CVMO et reçu par celle-ci. Un prospectus est un document d'information complet qui renferme des renseignements détaillés sur l'émetteur et décrit les valeurs mobilières émises et les risques associés à l'acquisition de ces titres.

Les sociétés peuvent tirer profit de certaines dispenses de prospectus afin de vendre des valeurs mobilières comme des titres de créances, des titres de participation, des titres adossés à des actifs, des fonds d'investissement et des produits dérivés sur le marché dispensé. (Consulter la section Quelles sont les dispenses de prospectus disponibles?)

Lorsque des valeurs mobilières sont vendues sans prospectus, certaines mesures de protection ne s'appliquent pas, comme le droit d'intenter une action en dommages-intérêts en cas d'une présentation inexacte des faits. Toutefois, les placements dispensés peuvent être fondés sur une certaine forme de document de placement qui engagera la responsabilité en vertu de l'article 130.1 de la Loi sur les valeurs mobilières de l'Ontario en cas d'une présentation inexacte des faits.

Une personne, une compagnie ou un portail en ligne qui pratique des activités de courtage en valeurs mobilières ou qui donne des conseils à cet égard doit être inscrit. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur l'inscription, consulter la section Qui est tenu de s'inscrire?

Restrictions de revente

Dans de nombreux cas, un titre vendu en vertu d'une dispense de prospectus ne peut être revendu que si certaines conditions sont remplies. Ces conditions à la revente visent à s'assurer qu'il y a suffisamment d'information sur le marché pour permettre à un acheteur subséquent de prendre une décision de placement éclairée. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les restrictions de revente, se reporter au Règlement 45-102 sur la revente de titres. (en anglais seulement)

Déclarations de placement avec dispense

Les compagnies et les souscripteurs à forfait doivent déclarer certains placements dispensés à la CVMO en remplissant et en déposant l'Annexe 45-106A1, Déclaration de placement avec dispense (Annexe 45-106A1) et payer les frais de dépôt applicables. L'Annexe 45-106A1 doit être déposée au plus tard dix jours après le placement. Les fonds d'investissement qui se prévalent de certaines dispenses de prospectus ont la possibilité de déposer l'Annexe 45-106A1 sur une base annuelle, dans les 30 jours suivant la fin de l'année civile.

L'Annexe 45-106A1 doit être déposée par voie électronique pour les placements en vertu :

  • du paragraphe 73.3 (2) de la Loi sur les valeurs mobilières (Ontario) [investisseur qualifié];
  • du paragraphe 73.5 (2) de la Loi sur les valeurs mobilières (Ontario) [titres assortis d’un incitatif gouvernemental];
  • certaines dispenses de prospectus dans le Règlement 45-106 sur les dispenses relatives aux prospectus;
  • Règlement 45-108 sur le financement participatif.

Nouveau rapport de placement avec dispense (en vigueur en date du 30 juin 2016)

Un nouveau rapport de placement dispensé, l'Annexe 45-106A1, est entré en vigueur dans tous les territoires de compétence des ACVM, y compris en Ontario, le 30 juin 2016. Consulter l'avis de modifications du Règlement 45-106 sur les dispenses relatives aux prospectus qui concernent les déclarations de placement avec dispense (en anglais seulement) pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur le nouveau rapport.

Les annexes de ce nouveau rapport doivent être déposées au moyen des modèles Excel (Annexe 1 / Annexe 2) (en anglais seulement) élaborés par les ACVM.

Pour obtenir des directives sur la manière de remplir et de déposer le nouveau rapport, se reporter à l'avis du personnel des ACVM 45-308 (révisé) Indications relatives à l'établissement et au dépôt d'une déclaration de placement avec dispense. (en anglais seulement)

Données sur le marché dispensé

Résumé des placements dispensés

Les renseignements sur le placement dispensé ont été résumés à partir des déclarations de placement avec dispense (Annexe 45-106A1) qui ont été déposées auprès de la Commission en vertu du Règlement 45-106 sur les dispenses de prospectus. Les résumés sont fondés sur l'information contenue dans les rapports lorsque des acheteurs de l'Ontario ont été identifiés.

Remarque : Les résumés affichés sur cette page sont fournis à des fins d'éducation et d'information non commerciales uniquement. Ils sont fondés sur l'information contenue dans les rapports de placements dispensés (Annexe 45-106A1) qui ont été déposés auprès de la Commission par l'intermédiaire de son portail de dépôt électronique. La CVMO n'est pas en mesure de garantir que les renseignements présentés dans ces rapports sont exacts ou actuels, et, par conséquent, ne peut pas garantir l'exactitude, le caractère actuel ou l'exhaustivité des résumés affichés.


Statistiques des activités du marché dispensé de l'Ontario

Publications du marché dispensé

Voici une liste des publications relatives au marché dispensé.

Déclarations de placement avec dispense


Dispenses de prospectus


Renseignements généraux sur l'examen du marché dispensé de la CVMO

Qui est tenu de s'inscrire?

Les particuliers, les sociétés ou les portails en ligne qui pratiquent des activités de courtage en valeurs mobilières ou qui donnent des conseils à cet égard sont tenus de s'inscrire à titre de courtier ou de gestionnaire de portefeuilles (aussi appelée « compagnie inscrite »).

Bien qu'il n'existe aucune exigence pour les compagnies de distribuer des valeurs mobilières par l'intermédiaire d'une compagnie inscrite, dans de nombreux cas, cela sera nécessaire pour vendre des valeurs mobilières sur le marché dispensé. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les facteurs qui indiquent que l'inscription à titre de courtier ou de conseiller est exigée, se reporter à [lien vers obligation d'inscription].

Pour obtenir des renseignements sur l'obligation d'inscription, se reporter à Courtiers, conseillers et gestionnaires de fonds d'investissement – Qui est tenu de s'inscrire.

Pour les demandes à propos de l'inscription ou pour vérifier le statut d'inscription d'un particulier ou d'une compagnie, veuillez communiquer avec l'InfoCentre de la CVMO au 416 593-8314 (ou sans frais au 1 877 785-1555), ou par courriel à l'adresse inquiries@osc.gov.on.ca. Vous pouvez également utiliser le moteur de recherche national des Autorités canadiennes en valeurs mobilières pour vérifier l'inscription d'un particulier ou d'une société.

Quelles sont les dispenses de prospectus disponibles?

Les dispenses de prospectus disponibles pour les compagnies sont principalement énoncées dans le Règlement 45¬106 sur les dispenses relatives aux prospectus. En règle générale, chaque dispense est fondée sur un raisonnement précis de politique qui soutient le fait qu'un prospectus n'est pas nécessaire dans les circonstances.

Un aperçu des principales dispenses de prospectus associées à la mobilisation de fonds en Ontario est fourni dans le Résumé des principales dispenses de prospectus de mobilisation de fonds en Ontario (au 28 janvier 2016) (en anglais seulement).

Règles – Dispenses de prospectus

Historique des dispenses de prospectus