Proceedings

News Release

Ontario Securities
Commission


20 Queen St. W.
Box 55, Suite 1900
Toronto, ON M5H 3S8
Commission des valeurs mobilières de l'Ontario
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

April 19, 2011


Danny De Melo and Steven Hill Each Sentenced to 90 Days in Jail for
Breaching Ontario Securities Commission Cease Trade Order


TORONTO – Regional Senior Justice Bigelow of the Ontario Court of Justice yesterday sentenced Danny De Melo and Steven Hill to 90 days in jail and one year of probation each for violating the terms of an Ontario Securities Commission cease trade order. Danny De Melo and Steven Hill were also ordered to make restitution totalling $993,089.67 to 22 Ontario investors. Under the terms of the probation orders, Danny De Melo and Steven Hill are prohibited from trading in securities and were each ordered to complete 100 hours of community service work.

The cease trade orders that Steven Hill and Danny DeMelo violated were first made in July of 2009. These orders were also made against Hillcorp International Services, Suncorp Holdings and other affiliated companies and remain in effect. Cease trade orders prohibit individuals or companies from trading in securities. Violations of cease trade orders can result in a quasi-criminal prosecution under section 122 of the Securities Act (Ontario).

The mandate of the Ontario Securities Commission is to provide protection to investors from unfair, improper or fraudulent practices and to foster fair and efficient capital markets and confidence in capital markets. Investors are urged to check the registration of any person or company offering an investment opportunity and to review the Ontario Securities Commission’s investor materials available at www.osc.gov.on.ca.


-30-


For Media Inquiries:     Wendy Dey
Director, Communications & Public Affairs
416-593-8120

Carolyn Shaw-Rimmington
Manager, Public Affairs
416-593-2361

Dylan Rae
Media Relations Specialist
416-595-8934

For Investor Inquiries:     OSC Contact Centre
416-593-8314
1-877-785-1555 (Toll Free)

Instances

Communiqué

Ontario Securities
Commission


20, rue Queen Ouest
Box 55, Suite 1900
Toronto, ON M5H 3S8
Commission des valeurs mobilières de l'Ontario
POUR DIFFUSION IMMÉDIATE

Le 19 avril 2011


Danny De Melo et Steven Hill sont chacun condamnés à une peine
d'emprisonnement de 90 jours pour
avoir enfreint une ordonnance d'interdiction d'opérations de la Commission des
valeurs mobilières de l'Ontario


TORONTO – Le juge principal régional Bigelow de la Cour de justice de l'Ontario a condamné hier Danny De Melo et Steven Hill à une peine d'emprisonnement de 90 jours et à une période de probation de un an pour avoir enfreint les conditions d'une ordonnance d'interdiction d'opérations de la Commission des valeurs mobilières de l'Ontario. Danny De Melo et Steven Hill font également l'objet d'une ordonnance de restitution d'une somme totale de 993 089,67 $ à 22 investisseurs ontariens. En vertu des conditions des ordonnances de probation, il est interdit à Danny De Melo et à Steven Hill d'effectuer des opérations sur valeurs mobilières et tous les deux ont été enjoints de réaliser 100 heures de travaux communautaires.

Les ordonnances d'interdiction d'opérations que Steven Hill et Danny De Melo ont enfreintes ont d'abord été rendues en juillet 2009. Elles visaient également Hillcorp International Services, Suncorp Holdings et d'autres sociétés affiliées et elles sont toujours en vigueur. Les interdictions d'opérations interdisent aux particuliers ou aux sociétés d'effectuer des opérations sur valeurs mobilières. Toute infraction à une ordonnance d'interdiction d'opérations peut entraîner une poursuite quasi criminelle en vertu de l'article 122 de la Loi sur les valeurs mobilières de l'Ontario.

La Commission des valeurs mobilières de l'Ontario a pour mandat de protéger les investisseurs contre les pratiques déloyales, irrégulières ou frauduleuses et de favoriser des marchés financiers justes et efficaces et la confiance en ceux-ci. Nous invitons les investisseurs à vérifier l'inscription de toute personne ou compagnie offrant des occasions de placement et à consulter le matériel d'information de la Commission des valeurs mobilières de l'Ontario à l'intention des investisseurs accessible à l'adresse www.osc.gov.on.ca.


-30-


Renseignements, médias : Wendy Dey
Directrice des communications et des affaires publiques
416-593-8120

Carolyn Shaw-Rimmington
Chef de service, Affaires publiques
416-593-2361

Dylan Rae
Spécialiste des relations avec les médias
416-595-8934

Renseignements, investisseurs : InfoCentre de la CVMO
416-593-8314
1-877-785-1555 (sans frais)