OSC Proceedings
The OSC has broad powers to enforce the Securities Act (Ontario) and the Commodity Futures Act. We investigate allegations of misconduct in the capital markets and can initiate proceedings against individuals or companies suspected of violating securities law or acting contrary to the public interest. These enforcement proceedings are heard before the Commission.

The Commission also conducts hearings on regulatory matters, such as takeover bids and reviews of decisions made by OSC staff, self-regulatory organizations, exchanges and clearing agencies.

Commission hearings are generally open to the public. For information on upcoming proceedings, see Before the Commission. For documents relating to open and completed proceedings, see All Commission Proceedings.

The OSC also has the authority to prosecute alleged breaches of securities law against defendants in the Ontario Court of Justice. In these cases, the OSC is seeking sanctions and penalties from the court to send a strong message of deterrence. Matters under appeal from decisions of the Commission are heard by the Divisional Court and ultimately the Ontario Court of Appeal. For information on upcoming proceedings, see Before the Courts. For news releases related to these proceedings, see All Court Proceedings.

Instances

 

La CVMO dispose d'énormes pouvoirs pour veiller à l'application de la Loi sur les valeurs mobilières (Ontario) et de la Loi sur les contrats à terme sur marchandises. Nous enquêtons sur les allégations d'inconduite sur les marchés financiers et pouvons intenter des poursuites contre des compagnies ou des particuliers soupçonnés d'enfreindre le droit des valeurs mobilières ou d'agir à l'encontre de l'intérêt public. Ces instances d'application de la loi sont entendues devant la Commission. 

La Commission tient en outre des audiences sur d'autres affaires réglementaires comme les offres d'achat visant à la mainmise et l'examen des décisions du personnel de la CVMO, des organismes d'autoréglementation, des bourses et des agences de compensation.

De façon générale, les audiences de la Commission sont accessibles au public. Pour obtenir des renseignements sur les instances à venir de la CVMO, consultez la section Devant la Commission. Pour consulter les documents relatifs aux instances en cours et terminées, consultez la section Toutes les instances.

La CVMO a également le pouvoir d'intenter des poursuites en cas de violation présumée du droit des valeurs mobilières contre les défendeurs devant la Cour de justice de l'Ontario. Dans ces affaires, la CVMO demande à la Cour d'imposer des sanctions et des peines afin de transmettre un message clair de dissuasion. Les décisions de la Commission portées en appel sont entendues par la Cour divisionnaire et, en fin de compte, par la Cour d'appel de l'Ontario. Pour obtenir des renseignements sur les instances à venir, consultez la section Devant la Commission. Pour consulter les communiqués relatifs à ces instances, consultez la section Devant la Cour