Proceedings

PDF Version PDF version

Frequently Asked Questions About Proceedings

The frequently asked questions and answers contained below are intended to assist self-represented parties, as well as any other applicants, respondents, witnesses and others involved in proceedings heard by the Ontario Securities Commission (which is referred to as the “Commission” or the “OSC”).

These questions and answers provide an overview of procedures for Commission proceedings. They provide general information only. Proceedings may vary and Panels may order different procedures than discussed here. You should review both the Commission’s Rules of Procedure and Forms and the Commission’s Practice Guideline when preparing for a hearing. If there is a discrepancy between the information contained below and the Rules of Procedure and Forms or the Practice Guideline, then the Rules of Procedure and Forms and/or the Practice Guideline will apply.

This is not a legal document and does not give any legal advice. If you have questions about a matter that involves you, consider contacting a lawyer or paralegal. If you are involved in an enforcement proceeding, you may be eligible to apply for a volunteer lawyer to assist you through the Litigation Assistance Program (the “LAP”). For more information on the LAP, see the section on “Representation” in Part 3.

The Office of the Secretary cannot provide legal advice.

Instances

PDF version

Foire aux questions sur les instances

La foire aux questions et les réponses qui figurent ci-dessous visent à aider les parties qui se représentent elles-mêmes, ainsi que les requérants, intimés, témoins et intervenants aux instances entendues par la Commission des valeurs mobilières de l’Ontario (qui est appelée la « Commission » ou la « CVMO » dans le présent document).

Ces questions et réponses dressent un aperçu des procédures relatives aux instances de la Commission. Elles fournissent des renseignements généraux seulement. Les instances peuvent varier et les comités peuvent ordonner des procédures différentes de celles discutées ici. Vous devez consulter les Règles de procédure et formules et la Directive de pratique de la Commission pour vous préparer à une audience. En cas de divergence entre les renseignements contenus ci-dessous et les Règles de procédure et formules ou la Directive de pratique, les Règles de procédure et formules et (ou) la Directive de pratique s’appliqueront alors.

Le présent document n’est pas un document juridique et ne donne pas d’avis juridique. Si vous avez des questions à propos d’une affaire qui vous touche, veuillez communiquer avec un avocat ou un parajuriste. Si vous prenez part à une instance d’application de la loi, vous pouvez être admissible à présenter une demande pour qu’un avocat bénévole vous aide grâce au Programme d’aide en matière de procédure (le « PAMP »). Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur le PAMP, veuillez consulter la section 3 « Représentation ».

Le Bureau du secrétaire ne peut fournir d’avis juridique.