Clearing Agencies

A clearing agency is a person or company that facilitates the clearing and settlement of trades. Its function is to:

  • act as an intermediary in paying funds or delivering securities;
  • provide centralized facilities for the clearing and settlement of trades; or
  • provide centralized facilities as a depository of securities.

For the full definition, please see Section 1(1) of the Securities Act (Ontario).

Recognition Process

Section 21.2 of the Securities Act (Ontario) prohibits clearing agencies from carrying on business in Ontario unless they are recognized by the Commission as a clearing agency or are exempt from the requirement to be recognized by order of the Commission. An application for recognition as a clearing agency should be filed through the OSC's electronic filing portal. National Instrument 24-102 Clearing Agency Requirements (NI 24-102) sets out the framework for the recognition or exemption of all clearing agencies seeking to carry on business in a Canadian jurisdiction. As described in the NI 24-102, the OSC will assess an application for recognition or exemption based on a variety of factors, including but not limited to:

  • governance
  • rules and rulemaking;
  • systems and technology;
  • access standards;
  • fees;
  • financial viability and reporting;
  • risk management;
  • operational reliability;
  • protection of assets;
  • outsourcing; and
  • information sharing and regulatory cooperation.

The OSC may also impose terms and conditions on the recognition or exemption of the clearing agency.

Ongoing Requirements

A clearing agency is required to comply with the relevant requirements of NI 24-102, as well as terms and conditions imposed by the OSC resulting from recognition or exemption from recognition. In particular, NI 24-102 adopts international standards set out in the April 2012 report Principles for financial market infrastructures published by the Bank for International Settlements’ Committee on Payments and Market Infrastructures (CPMI) and the International Organization of Securities Commissions (IOSCO).

Depending on the functions performed by a clearing agency, it may also be subject to various requirements of Ontario securities law, including National Instrument 24-101 Institutional Trade Matching and Settlement (NI 24-101) and National Instrument 54-101 Communication with Beneficial Owners of Securities of a Reporting Issuer (NI 54-101). Some of these requirements include:

  • Delivering to the OSC aggregate and individual institutional trade matching statistics on Form 24-101F2 no later than 30 days after the end of a calendar quarter.
  • Implementing rules, instruments and procedures that are consistent with the institutional trade matching and settlement requirements of NI 24-101.
  • Facilitating the process for reporting issuers to communicate with, and send materials to, beneficial owners of securities under NI 54-101.

The OSC oversees the compliance of a clearing agency with regulatory requirements. As part of its oversight, the OSC may review required filings and proposals for amendments to by-laws, rules and policies of the clearing agency, and may perform on-site oversight reviews. The OSC also oversees a recognized clearing agency’s compliance with the automation review program.

The OSC coordinates its oversight of regulated clearing agencies with regulatory partners in the CSA and the Bank of Canada. The OSC has entered into a memorandum of understanding with the Bank of Canada, Autorité des marchés financiers du Québec, and the British Columbia Securities Commission (the BOC MOU). The main objective of the BOC MOU is to promote the safety and efficiency of clearing and settlement systems in a consistent and coordinated fashion. Specifically, the BOC MOU will enhance and formalize the cooperation and coordination among regulators to improve the efficiency and effectiveness of their oversight of commonly regulated clearing and settlement systems and to ensure consistency in their regulation to reduce regulatory burden; the BOC MOU will also promote information sharing. The BOC MOU came into effect on June 9, 2014.

Clearing agencies either recognized or exempted from recognition by the OSC for operation in Ontario:


For more information:

Secteur

Agences de compensation

Une agence de compensation est une personne ou une société qui facilite la compensation et le règlement des opérations. Elle s'acquitte des fonctions suivantes :

  • agir à titre d'intermédiaire pour le paiement de fonds ou la livraison de valeurs mobilières;
  • fournir un mécanisme centralisé de compensation ou de règlement des opérations;
  • fournir un mécanisme centralisé comme dépositaire de valeurs mobilières.

Pour obtenir la définition complète, veuillez consulter le paragraphe 1 (1) de la Loi sur les valeurs mobilières (Ontario).

Processus de reconnaissance

L'article 21.2 de la Loi sur les valeurs mobilières (Ontario) interdit aux agences de compensation d'exercer leurs activités en Ontario à moins d'être reconnues par la Commission comme agences de compensation ou d'être dispensées de cette exigence de reconnaissance en vertu d'une ordonnance de la Commission. Toute demande de reconnaissance en tant qu'agence de compensation doit être déposée par l'intermédiaire du portail de dépôt électronique de documents de la CVMO. Le Règlement 24-102 sur les obligations relatives aux chambres de compensation (Règlement 24-102) établit un cadre visant la reconnaissance ou la dispense de reconnaissance de toutes les agences de compensation qui cherchent à exercer leurs activités dans un territoire de compétence canadien. Comme le décrit le Règlement 24-102, la CVMO évaluera toute demande de reconnaissance ou de dispense selon divers facteurs comprenant notamment les suivants :

  • la gouvernance;
  • les règles et l'établissement de règles;
  • les systèmes et la technologie;
  • les normes d'accès;
  • les droits;
  • la viabilité financière et les rapports financiers;
  • la gestion du risque;
  • la fiabilité opérationnelle;
  • la protection de l'actif;
  • l'impartition;
  • le partage de renseignements et la coopération en matière de réglementation.

 

La CVMO peut également établir des conditions pour la reconnaissance ou la dispense de l'agence de compensation.

Exigences permanentes

Une agence de compensation est tenue de se conformer aux exigences pertinentes du
Règlement 24-102, ainsi qu'aux conditions qu'impose la CVMO par suite de la reconnaissance ou de la dispense de reconnaissance. Plus particulièrement, le Règlement 24-102 adopte les normes internationales énoncées dans le rapport d'avril 2012 intitulé Principes pour les infrastructures de marchés financiers publié par le Comité sur les systèmes de paiement et de règlement (CSPR) de la Banque des règlements internationaux et l'Organisation internationale des commissions de valeurs (OICV).

Selon les fonctions qu'elle exécute, une agence de compensation peut également être assujettie à diverses exigences du droit ontarien des valeurs mobilières, notamment le Règlement 24-101 sur l'appariement et le règlement des opérations institutionnelles et le Règlement 54-101 sur la communication avec les propriétaires véritables des titres d'un émetteur assujetti. Voici certaines de ces exigences :

  • remettre à la CVMO des statistiques sur les opérations institutionnelles confirmées individuelles et regroupées à l'aide de l'Annexe 24-101A2 au plus tard 30 jours suivant la fin d'un trimestre civil;
  • mettre en œuvre des règles, des instruments et des procédures qui sont conformes aux exigences du Règlement 24-101 sur l'appariement et le règlement des opérations institutionnelles;
  • faciliter le processus de communication des émetteurs assujettis avec les propriétaires véritables des titres d'un émetteur et de transmission des documents à ces derniers en vertu du Règlement 54-101.

La CVMO surveille la conformité d'une agence de compensation aux exigences réglementaires. Dans le cadre de cette supervision, la CVMO peut examiner les documents dont le dépôt est obligatoire et les propositions de modification des règlements, des règles et des politiques de l'agence de compensation et peut effectuer des examens de supervision sur place. La CVMO surveille en outre la conformité d'une agence de compensation reconnue au programme d'examen automatisé.

La CVMO coordonne sa surveillance des agences de compensation réglementées avec ses partenaires des ACVM et la Banque du Canada. Elle a conclu un protocole d'entente avec la Banque du Canada, l'Autorité des marchés financiers du Québec et la British Columbia Securities Commission (le protocole d'entente de la Banque du Canada). Le principal objectif du protocole d'entente de la Banque du Canada est de promouvoir la sécurité et l'efficacité des systèmes de compensation et de règlement d'une manière uniforme et coordonnée. Plus précisément, le protocole d'entente de la Banque du Canada améliorera et officialisera la coopération et la coordination entre les organismes de réglementation dans le but d'améliorer l'efficacité et l'efficience de leur supervision des systèmes de règlement et de compensation faisant l'objet d'une réglementation commune, ainsi que d'assurer une réglementation uniforme afin de réduire le fardeau réglementaire. Le protocole d'entente de la Banque du Canada favorisera également le partage de renseignements. Le protocole d'entente de la Banque du Canada est entré en vigueur le 9 juin 2014.

Agences de compensation reconnues ou dispensées de reconnaissance par la CVMO et œuvrant en Ontario :


Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements: