Industry


Prospectus Offerings


If an investment fund wants to distribute securities to the public, it must begin by filing a preliminary prospectus.

The OSC reviews, provides comments and may ask for changes on the preliminary prospectus. The investment fund must then amend the prospectus to the satisfaction of the OSC. Once this is done, a final prospectus is submitted to the OSC.

If a receipt is issued for a final prospectus, the prospectus can then be used to offer securities. In addition, the investment fund becomes a reporting issuer in Ontario and is subject to certain ongoing disclosure requirements. For more information on these requirements, see Ongoing Disclosure

If an investment fund wants to sell securities in other provinces or territories in Canada, it must also comply with the laws of those jurisdictions. More details on the filing and review process for prospectuses filed in multiple jurisdictions can be found in National Policy 11-202 Process for Prospectus Reviews in Multiple Jurisdictions.

Types of Prospectuses

The type of prospectus that an investment fund must prepare depends on the type of investment fund that is offering securities and whether the investment fund is making an initial offering or a subsequent offering.  

A conventional mutual fund must prepare a simplified prospectus. All other investment funds (which we refer to as “non-conventional investment funds”) must prepare a long form prospectus.  

A non-conventional investment fund that has previously offered securities under a long form prospectus may be eligible to use a short form prospectus if it meets certain criteria.  

Simplified Prospectus for Conventional Mutual Funds

Generally, a conventional mutual fund is an investment fund that offers securities that are redeemable on demand by investors for a proportionate interest of the mutual fund’s net assets. These securities are offered continuously and are not listed on a stock exchange. Conventional mutual funds include most mutual funds offered by banks and mutual fund companies.  

In order to sell securities to the public, National Instrument 81-101 Mutual Fund Prospectus Disclosure (NI 81-101) requires a conventional mutual fund to prepare and file:  

  • a simplified prospectus,
  • an annual information form (AIF), and
  • a Fund Facts document for every class or series of a mutual fund.

Information on the disclosure required in a simplified prospectus, AIF, and Fund Facts document is set out in Form 81-101F1 Contents of Simplified Prospectus, Form 81-101F2 Contents of Annual Information Form, and Form 81-101F3 Content of Fund Facts Document.

A mutual fund manager that manages multiple mutual funds may consolidate the simplified prospectuses of its mutual funds into a multiple simplified prospectus. If the simplified prospectuses of a group of mutual funds are consolidated, the AIFs for those mutual funds must also be consolidated into a multiple AIF.  

NI 81-101 also sets out other requirements for mutual fund prospectuses, including requirements regarding the filing of prospectus amendments, the incorporation by reference of specified documents, audit and review requirements for financial statements incorporated by reference and document delivery to investors.  

The review period for a simplified prospectus is generally 10 working days. For more information on the review procedures for prospectuses, see National Policy 11-202 Process for Prospectus Reviews in Multiple Jurisdictions.  

A mutual fund can distribute its securities under its simplified prospectus for 12 months. After 12 months, the simplified prospectus lapses. A mutual fund that is distributing securities under a simplified prospectus may continue to distribute its securities after the lapse date if it meets certain conditions, including filing a pro forma simplified prospectus within a specified time limit. For additional information, see NI 81-101 and section 62 of the Securities Act (Ontario).  

For more information:

Long Form Prospectus for Non-Conventional Investment Funds

A non-conventional investment fund must prepare a long form prospectus for its initial public offering. Such investment funds include closed end funds, commodity pools, labour sponsored investment funds, mutual funds that trade on an exchange and scholarship plans.

A non-conventional investment fund must prepare a long form prospectus in accordance with National Instrument 41-101 General Prospectus Requirements (NI 41-101) to undertake an initial offering to the public.

NI 41-101 sets out the requirements for a long form prospectus, including requirements regarding the filing of prospectus amendments, the appointment of a custodian and the audit and review of financial statements included in (or incorporated by reference into) a prospectus. For additional information, see NI 41-101.

The review period for a long form prospectus is generally 10 working days. For more information on the review procedures for prospectuses, see National Policy 11-202 Process for Prospectus Reviews in Multiple Jurisdiction.

An investment fund that is distributing securities continuously under a long form prospectus may do so for 12 months. After 12 months, the long form prospectus lapses. The investment fund may continue to distribute its securities after the lapse date if it meets certain conditions, including filing a pro forma prospectus within a specified time limit. For additional information, see NI 41-101 and section 62 of the Securities Act (Ontario).

For more information:

Short Form Prospectus

If a non-conventional investment fund is already a reporting issuer in a Canadian jurisdiction, it may be eligible to use a short form prospectus. This type of prospectus allows existing reporting issuers to incorporate by reference certain information into the prospectus. For example, an eligible investment fund would be able to use its continuous disclosure as the basis for disclosure incorporated by reference into the short form prospectus.

National Instrument 44-101 Short Form Prospectus Distributions sets out the eligibility criteria and disclosure requirements for using a short form prospectus. Note that a conventional mutual fund cannot use a short form prospectus.

The review period for a short form prospectus is generally three working days. For more information on the review procedures for prospectuses, see National Policy 11-202 Process for Prospectus Reviews in Multiple Jurisdictions.

For more information:

Secteur


Placements au Moyen d'un Prospectus


Si un fonds d'investissement désire proposer des valeurs mobilières au public, il doit commencer par déposer un prospectus provisoire.

La CVMO examine le prospectus provisoire, fournit des commentaires à son égard et peut demander que des modifications y soient apportées. Le fonds d'investissement doit ensuite modifier le prospectus à la satisfaction de la CVMO. Une fois que cela est fait, un prospectus final est présenté à la CVMO.

Si un reçu est délivré à l'égard d'un prospectus final, celui-ci peut alors être utilisé pour proposer des valeurs mobilières. De plus, le fonds d'investissement devient un émetteur assujetti en Ontario et doit se conformer à certaines obligations d'information continue. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur ces obligations, se reporter à Information continue (Disponible en anglais seulement).

Si un fonds d'investissement souhaite vendre des valeurs mobilières dans d'autres provinces ou territoires du Canada, il doit également se conformer aux lois de ces territoires de compétence. On peut trouver davantage de détails sur le processus de dépôt et d'examen des prospectus déposés dans de multiples territoires de compétence dans l'Instruction générale 11-202 relative à l’examen du prospectus dans plusieurs territoires (Disponible en anglais seulement).

Types de prospectus

Le type de prospectus qu'un fonds d'investissement doit préparer dépend du type de fonds qui offre les valeurs mobilières et du type d'offre (initiale ou subséquente) qu'il présente.

Un fonds mutuel traditionnel doit préparer un prospectus simplifié. Tous les autres fonds d'investissement (que l'on appelle « fonds d'investissement non conventionnels ») doivent préparer un prospectus détaillé.

Un fonds d'investissement non conventionnel qui a déjà proposé des valeurs mobilières en vertu d'un prospectus détaillé pourrait être autorisé à utiliser un prospectus abrégé s'il satisfait à certains critères.

Prospectus simplifié pour les fonds mutuels traditionnels

En règle générale, un fonds mutuel traditionnel est un fonds d'investissement qui propose des valeurs mobilières rachetables sur demande par les investisseurs en fonction d'un intérêt proportionnel de l'actif net du fonds mutuel. Ces valeurs mobilières sont proposées de façon continue et ne sont pas cotées en bourse. Les fonds mutuels traditionnels comprennent la plupart des fonds mutuels proposés par les banques et les sociétés de fonds mutuels.

Un fonds mutuel traditionnel doit préparer un prospectus simplifié conformément au Règlement 81-101 Régime de prospectus des organismes de placement collectif (Règlement 81-101) pour vendre des valeurs mobilières au public. Le Règlement 81-101 exige également qu'une notice annuelle soit préparée en même temps que le prospectus simplifié.

Les renseignements que doivent divulguer le prospectus simplifié et la notice annuelle sont énoncés dans l'Annexe 81 101A1, Contenu d'un prospectus simplifié et l'Annexe 81 101A2, Contenu d’une notice annuelle.

Un gestionnaire qui gère de multiples fonds mutuels peut regrouper les prospectus simplifiés de ses fonds en un prospectus simplifié multiple. Si les prospectus simplifiés d'un groupe de fonds mutuels sont regroupés, les notices annuelles relatives à ces fonds doivent elles aussi être regroupées en une notice annuelle multiple.

Le Règlement 81-101 énonce également d'autres exigences à l'égard des prospectus des fonds mutuels, y compris des exigences relatives au dépôt des modifications de prospectus, à l'incorporation par renvoi de certains documents, à la vérification et à l'examen des états financiers incorporés par renvoi et à la remise de documents aux investisseurs.

La période d'examen d'un prospectus simplifié et d'une notice annuelle est généralement de 10 jours ouvrables. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur le processus d'examen des prospectus, se reporter à l'Instruction générale 11-202 relative à l'examen du prospectus dans plusieurs territoires.

Un fonds mutuel peut distribuer ses valeurs mobilières en vertu de son prospectus simplifié pour une période de 12 mois. Après cette période, le prospectus simplifié devient caduc. Un fonds mutuel qui distribue des valeurs mobilières en vertu d'un prospectus simplifié peut continuer de les distribuer après la date de caducité s'il satisfait à certaines conditions, y compris le dépôt d'un prospectus simplifié pro forma dans un certain délai. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, se reporter au Règlement 81 101 et à l'article 62 de la Loi sur les valeurs mobilières (Ontario).

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements :

Prospectus détaillé pour les fonds d'investissement non conventionnels

Un fonds d'investissement non conventionnel doit préparer un prospectus détaillé pour son premier appel public à l'épargne. Ces fonds comprennent les fonds à capital fixe, les fonds du marché à terme, les fonds d'investissement parrainés par les travailleurs, les fonds mutuels qui sont négociés en bourse et les régimes de bourse d'études.

Un fonds d'investissement non conventionnel doit préparer un prospectus détaillé conformément au Règlement 41-101 sur les exigences générales relatives aux prospectus (Règlement 41-101) pour procéder à un premier appel public à l'épargne.

Le Règlement 41-101 énonce les exigences relatives à un prospectus détaillé, y compris celles qui sont liées au dépôt des modifications de prospectus, à la nomination d'un dépositaire et à la vérification et à l'examen des états financiers inclus (ou incorporés par renvoi) dans un prospectus. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, se reporter au Règlement 41-101.

La période d'examen d'un prospectus détaillé est généralement de 10 jours ouvrables. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur le processus d'examen des prospectus, se reporter à l'Instruction générale 11-202 relative à l'examen du prospectus dans plusieurs territoires.

Un fonds d'investissement qui distribue des valeurs mobilières de façon continue en vertu d'un prospectus détaillé peut le faire pendant 12 mois. Après cette période, le prospectus détaillé devient caduc. Le fonds d'investissement peut continuer de distribuer ses valeurs mobilières après la date de caducité s'il satisfait à certaines conditions, y compris le dépôt d'un prospectus pro forma dans un certain délai. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, se reporter au Règlement 41-101 et à l'article 62 de la Loi sur les valeurs mobilières (Ontario).

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements :

Prospectus abrégé

Si un fonds d'investissement non conventionnel est déjà un émetteur assujetti dans un territoire de compétence canadien, il peut être autorisé à utiliser un prospectus abrégé. Ce type de prospectus permet aux émetteurs assujettis existants d'incorporer certains renseignements par renvoi dans le prospectus. Par exemple, un fonds d'investissement admissible pourrait utiliser l'information continue qu'il publie comme fondement de l'information incorporée par renvoi dans le prospectus abrégé.

Le Règlement 44-101 sur le placement de titres au moyen d’un prospectus simplifié énonce les critères d'admissibilité et les obligations d'information relatifs à l'utilisation d'un tel prospectus. Il convient de noter qu'un fonds mutuel traditionnel ne peut pas utiliser de prospectus abrégé.

La période d'examen d'un prospectus abrégé est généralement de trois jours ouvrables. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur le processus d'examen des prospectus, se reporter à l'Instruction générale 11-202 relative à l'examen du prospectus dans plusieurs territoires.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements :