Industry


Dealer Oversight


Most investment funds that have filed a prospectus for their securities sell them to the public through dealers that are registered in the category of "mutual fund dealer" or "investment dealer."

  • A dealer registered in the category of "mutual fund dealer" is only permitted to sell securities of a mutual fund. Under National Instrument 31-103 Registration Requirements and Exemptions (NI 31-103), a mutual fund dealer is required to be a member of a self-regulatory organization known as the Mutual Fund Dealers Association of Canada (MFDA).
  • A dealer registered in the category of "investment dealer" is permitted to sell all types of securities, including securities of investment funds. Under NI 31-103, an investment dealer is required to be a member of a self-regulatory organization known as the Investment Industry Regulatory Organization of Canada (IIROC).
  • A dealer registered in the category of "scholarship plan dealer" is only permitted to sell securities of a scholarship plan.
  • Dealers that only sell securities under a prospectus exemption are generally registered in the category of "exempt market dealer." For more information on registration, see Information for Dealers, Advisers and Investment Fund Managers.
For more information:

Secteur


Supervision des Courtiers


La plupart des fonds d'investissement qui ont déposé un prospectus relatif à leurs valeurs mobilières vendent ces dernières au public par l'entremise de courtiers qui sont inscrits dans la catégorie « courtier en fonds mutuels » ou « courtier en valeurs mobilières ».

  • Un courtier qui est inscrit dans la catégorie « courtier en fonds mutuels » est uniquement autorisé à vendre les valeurs mobilières d'un fonds mutuel. En vertu du Règlement 31-103 sur les obligations et dispenses d'inscription, un courtier en fonds mutuels doit être membre d'un organisme d'autoréglementation appelé Association canadienne des courtiers de fonds mutuels (ACCFM) - (Disponible en anglais seulement).
  • Un courtier qui est inscrit dans la catégorie « courtier en valeurs mobilières » est autorisé à vendre tous les types de valeurs mobilières, y compris celles des fonds mutuels. En vertu du Règlement 31-103, un courtier en valeurs mobilières doit être membre d'un organisme d'autoréglementation appelé L'Organisme canadien de réglementation du commerce des valeurs mobilières (OCRCVM).
  • Un courtier qui est inscrit dans la catégorie « courtier en bourses d'études » est uniquement autorisé à vendre les valeurs mobilières d'un régime de bourses d'études.
  • Les courtiers qui vendent uniquement des valeurs mobilières en vertu d'une dispense de prospectus sont généralement inscrits dans la catégorie « courtier sur le marché dispensé ». Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur l'inscription, se reporter à Information à l'intention des courtiers, des conseillers et des gestionnaires de fonds de placement.
Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements :