Industry


Initial Requirements


Firms and individuals must meet certain requirements in order to be registered and to maintain their registration. These requirements are based on three fundamental principles:

  • Proficiency. Individuals must meet proficiency requirements as set out in Part 3 of National Instrument 31-103 Registration Requirements, Exemptions and Ongoing Registrant Obligations. Individuals who do not demonstrate that they meet minimum proficiency standards may not be fit for registration. Firms that do not have registered individuals with the necessary proficiency may not be fit for registration.
  • Integrity. Firms and individuals must conduct themselves with integrity, which includes honesty and good faith, particularly in dealing with clients. Firms and individuals who have a history of non-compliance with regulatory and legal requirements may not be fit for registration.
  • Solvency. Firms must maintain solvency by meeting the capital and insurance requirements required to conduct their obligations on a daily basis. Firms and individuals with a history of insolvency may not be fit for registration.

For more information, see Firm Requirements and Individual Requirements.

Secteur


Exigences Initiales


Les sociétés et les particuliers doivent satisfaire à certaines exigences pour s'inscrire et maintenir leur inscription en vigueur. Ces exigences reposent sur trois principes fondamentaux :

  • Compétence. Les particuliers doivent satisfaire aux exigences de compétence énoncées à la partie 3 du Règlement 31-103 sur les obligations et dispenses d'inscription. Les particuliers qui ne font pas la preuve de satisfaire aux normes de compétence minimales n'ont peut-être pas les qualités requises. Les sociétés qui n'ont pas de particuliers inscrits ayant les compétences nécessaires n'ont peut-être pas les qualités requises.
  • Intégrité. Les sociétés et les particuliers doivent se comporter avec intégrité, notamment avec honnêteté et de bonne foi, en particulier dans les relations avec les clients. Les sociétés et les particuliers qui ont des antécédents de non-conformité aux exigences de la loi et de la réglementation n'ont peut-être pas les qualités requises.
  • Solvabilité. Les sociétés doivent demeurer solvables en satisfaisant aux exigences de capital et d'assurance qui leur sont nécessaires pour s'acquitter quotidiennement de leurs obligations. Les sociétés et les particuliers qui ont des antécédents d'insolvabilité n'ont peut-être pas les qualités requises.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, se reporter à Exigences relatives aux sociétés et Exigences relatives aux particuliers.