Companies

Information for Small and Medium Enterprises


This web page is dedicated to providing Small and Medium Enterprises (SMEs) with useful information relevant to their market. SMEs and their advisors are encouraged to frequently visit this page and its contents to learn more about OSC rules and requirements, and capital market information that impact them.





Small and Medium Enterprises in Ontario

The OSC recognizes the important role the small business sector plays in Ontario’s capital market. Approximately 36 per cent of Canadian SMEs were recorded as Ontario-based, representing 97 per cent of Ontario-based businesses (Industry Canada, SME Financing Data Initiative, 2007). Additionally, a significant proportion of TSX-Venture listed issuers are also based in Ontario.  

The OSC’s role as securities regulator is to uphold confidence and integrity in Ontario’s capital markets. Given the importance of SMEs to Ontario’s market, the OSC works to foster easier access to capital raising for SMEs, while adequately protecting the needs of investors in those companies. The OSC strives to support Ontario-based SMEs in all industries by facilitating cost-effective compliance through appropriate regulation and targeted programs of issuer education and outreach.  


Back to top




The OSC SME Institute

Education and outreach for SMEs are important elements of the OSC’s SME strategy. As part of its commitment to foster a culture of compliance to improve market confidence and safeguard investors, the OSC is launching a series of educational seminars specifically tailored towards SMEs to help them understand their regulatory obligations.  

Established in July 2012, The OSC SME Institute offers a series of seminars on a variety of topics including securities regulatory requirements, capital raising in Ontario’s capital market, as well as tips on working with the OSC. Participants of the OSC SME Institute will benefit from the training and workshops offered, and from hearing first-hand from OSC staff and industry representatives on the latest regulatory issues affecting the SME market. This is also an opportunity for SMEs to share their concerns with the OSC. 

The OSC SME Institute seminars are offered free of charge. Please visit the OSC SME Institute calendar to see a description of the seminars being offered and to register.


Back to top




The OSC SME Community

The OSC encourages SMEs to join its SME Community in order to receive regular updates on OSC initiatives, policies and programs that impact SMEs. By becoming a member of the OSC SME Community, SME’s will be made aware of various upcoming OSC publications, practice directives and guidance tools, which will provide further direction on the OSC’s expectations regarding filings.

To receive regular updates, join The OSC SME Community


Back to top




The Small and Medium Enterprises Committee

The Small and Medium Enterprises Committee (SMEC) advises OSC staff on a range of projects, including the planning, implementation and communication of the OSC’s review program, as well as policy and rule-making initiatives relevant to small issuers. The SMEC also serves as a forum to advise OSC staff on the emerging issues and unique challenges faced by small issuers.  

See more information about the SMEC.


Back to top




Topical Information for SMEs



How To Raise Capital
Exempt Distributions: How your business can issue shares without going public

This guide explains how small or medium enterprises can raise capital by selling shares, without the expense of preparing a prospectus and going public.  

Table of contents:
What is an exempt distribution?
The accredited investor exemption
The private issuer exemption
The $150,000 minimum amount exemption
What kind of information must you give to investors?
Can investors resell the securities they buy from you?  

Other Capital Raising Alternatives

For more information, see Information for Companies: Selling Securities.


Back to top




Ongoing Requirements

Filing Due Dates Calendar for Annual and Interim Filings by Reporting Issuers 

Information for Companies: Ongoing Disclosure


Back to top




Other Information

For information on other aspects of offering securities or being a reporting issuer in Ontario, see Information for Companies.


Back to top




SME Alerts



Back to top




Other Related Resources



Back to top




Contact Us

Contact us if you have any questions.


Back to top


The information on this page should be taken as a guide. The content is not intended to provide investment, financial accounting, legal, tax or other professional advice and should not be relied upon or regarded as a substitute for such advice. We recommend that you seek advice from a qualified professional adviser before acting on any information or other content appearing on this website or any website to which it may be linked.

Secteur


Renseignements à l'intention des petites et moyennes entreprises


La présente page Web vise à fournir aux petites et moyennes entreprises (PME) de l'information utile concernant leur marché. Les PME et leurs conseillers sont invités à consulter fréquemment cette page afin d'en apprendre davantage sur les règles et les exigences de la CVMO, ainsi que sur l'information qui les concerne relativement aux marchés financiers.





Les petites et moyennes entreprises en Ontario

La CVMO reconnaît le rôle important que joue le secteur des petites entreprises sur le marché financier de l'Ontario. Environ 36 pour cent des PME canadiennes sont établies en Ontario, ce qui représente 97 pour cent des entreprises ontariennes (Industrie Canada, Programme de recherche sur le financement des PME, 2007). De plus, un grand nombre d'émetteurs inscrits à la Bourse de croissance TSX sont également établis en Ontario.

Le rôle de la CVMO en tant qu'organisme de réglementation des valeurs mobilières est de maintenir la confiance à l'égard des marchés financiers de l'Ontario et d'en préserver l'intégrité. Étant donné l'importance des PME pour le marché ontarien, la CVMO cherche à faciliter la levée de capitaux pour les PME, tout en protégeant adéquatement les besoins des gens qui investissent dans ces compagnies. La CVMO s'efforce de soutenir les PME ontariennes dans tous les secteurs d'activité en favorisant la conformité à un coût abordable au moyen d'une réglementation appropriée et de programmes ciblés en matière d'éducation et de sensibilisation des émetteurs.


Retour au début




L'Institut pour les PME de la CVMO

L'éducation et la sensibilisation constituent des éléments importants de la stratégie de la CVMO concernant les PME. Dans le cadre de son engagement de favoriser une culture de conformité visant à accroître la confiance à l'égard des marchés et à protéger les investisseurs, la CVMO lance une série de séminaires éducatifs ciblant particulièrement les PME afin de les aider à comprendre leurs obligations réglementaires.

Créé en juillet 2012, l'Institut pour les PME de la CVMO offre une série de séminaires sur une variété de sujets, notamment les exigences réglementaires en matière de valeurs mobilières, la levée de capitaux sur les marchés financiers de l'Ontario ainsi que des conseils sur la manière de travailler avec la CVMO. Les participants tireront profit de la formation et des ateliers offerts et du fait d'entendre directement ce que le personnel de la CVMO et les représentants du secteur ont à dire sur les plus récentes questions réglementaires touchant le marché des PME. Il s'agit également d'une occasion pour les PME de partager leurs préoccupations avec la CVMO.

Les séminaires de l'Institut pour les PME de la CVMO sont offerts sans frais. Veuillez consulter le calendrier de l'Institut pour les PME de la CVMO (Disponible en anglais seulement) pour voir une description des séminaires offerts et vous y inscrire.


Retour au début




La communauté des PME de la CVMO

La CVMO invite les PME à se joindre à sa communauté des PME afin de recevoir des mises à jour régulières sur les initiatives, les politiques et les programmes de la CVMO qui les touchent. En devenant membres de la communauté des PME de la CVMO, les PME seront informées des diverses publications à venir de la CVMO, des directives en matière de pratiques et des outils d'orientation, qui fourniront davantage de directives sur les attentes de la CVMO en matière de dépôts.

Pour recevoir les mises à jour régulières, joignez-vous à la communauté des PME de la CVMO.


Retour au début




Le Comité des petites et moyennes entreprises

Le Comité des petites et moyennes entreprises (CPME) conseille le personnel à l'égard de divers projets, dont la planification, la mise en œuvre et la communication du programme d'examen de la CVMO, ainsi que des initiatives d'établissement de règles et de politiques qui concernent les petits émetteurs. Le Comité sert en outre de forum dans le but de conseiller le personnel de la CVMO en ce qui concerne les problèmes émergents et les défis particuliers que doivent relever les petits émetteurs.

Cliquer ici pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur le CPME.


Retour au début




Information d'actualité à l'intention des PME



Comment lever des capitaux
Placements dispensés : Comment émettre des actions sans appel public à l'épargne

Ce guide explique comment les petites ou moyennes entreprises peuvent obtenir du capital par la vente d'actions, sans préparation d'un prospectus et sans appel public à l'épargne.

Table des matières (anglais seulement)
Qu'est-ce qu'un placement dispensé?
Dispense relative aux investisseurs accrédités
Dispense relative aux émetteurs privés
Dispense relative au montant minimal de 150 000 $
Quel type d'information devez-vous divulguer aux investisseurs?
Les investisseurs peuvent-ils revendre les titres acquis auprès de vous?

Autres solutions pour lever des capitaux

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, se reporter à Renseignements à l'intention des compagnies : Vente de valeurs mobilières.


Retour au début




Exigences permanentes

Calendrier des dates de dépôt des documents annuels et intermédiaires par les émetteurs assujettis

Renseignements à l'intention des compagnies : Information continue


Retour au début




Autre information

Pour obtenir des renseignements sur les autres aspects de l'offre de valeurs mobilières ou le fait d'être un émetteur assujetti en Ontario, consulter la page Renseignements à l'intention des compagnies.


Retour au début




Alertes à l'intention des PME



Retour au début




Communiquer avec nous

Communiquez avec nous si vous avez des questions.


Retour au début


Les renseignements figurant sur cette page sont affichés à titre indicatif seulement. Le contenu ne vise aucunement à fournir des conseils professionnels en matière de placements, de finances, de comptabilité, de droit, de fiscalité ou autre et on ne doit pas s'y fier ou le considérer comme un substitut de tels conseils. Nous vous recommandons de demander l'avis d'un conseiller professionnel compétent avant d'agir sur la foi de tout renseignement ou contenu apparaissant sur le présent site Web ou sur tout site Web auquel il peut être relié.