Industry


Selling Securities


A company that wants to offer its securities to the public in Ontario must prepare a detailed disclosure document known as a prospectus. A prospectus contains key information about the company and the securities being offered. In addition, any trade in a security must be made by a person or company that is registered in accordance with the provisions of the Securities Act (Ontario). For more information on registration requirements see Information for Dealers, Advisers, and Investment Fund Managers.

Companies use different types of prospectuses to sell their securities, depending on their stage of development and the nature of the offering. The main types are the long-form prospectus, the short-form prospectus, the shelf prospectus and the post-receipt pricing prospectus.

In certain cases, securities may be offered without a prospectus. Such offerings are sometimes referred to as private placements or exempt distributions. Most exemptions from the prospectus requirement are set out in National Instrument 45-106 Prospectus and Registration Exemptions.

One common exemption that may be available to a company that has previously issued shares is the ability to distribute rights to purchase shares of the company to its existing shareholders. For more information see Rights Offerings.

Secteur


Vente de Valeurs Mobilières


Une compagnie d'investissement qui désire offrir ses valeurs mobilières au public en Ontario doit préparer un document d'information détaillé que l'on appelle prospectus. Un prospectus renferme des renseignements clés sur la compagnie et les valeurs mobilières qui sont proposées. De plus, toute opération sur valeur mobilière doit être effectuée par une personne ou une compagnie inscrite en vertu des dispositions de la Loi sur les valeurs mobilières (Ontario). Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les exigences d'inscription, se reporter à Inscription.

Les compagnies utilisent différents types de prospectus pour vendre leurs titres, selon leur stade de développement et la nature du placement. Les principaux types de prospectus sont le prospectus détaillé, le prospectus simplifiéle prospectus préalable et le prospectus de base RFPV.

Dans certains cas, les valeurs mobilières peuvent être proposées sans prospectus. On fait parfois référence à ces placements sous le nom de placements privés. La plupart des dispenses de prospectus sont énoncées dans le Règlement 45-106 sur les dispenses relatives aux prospectus et aux inscriptions.

Une dispense dont peut se prévaloir couramment une compagnie ayant déjà émis des actions est la possibilité de distribuer des droits d'acheter les actions de la compagnie à ses actionnaires. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, se reporter à Émission de droits.