Industry


SEDAR


SEDAR is the electronic system for the official filing of documents by public companies and investment funds across Canada. Its purpose is to:

  • facilitate electronic filing of securities information as required by the securities regulatory authorities in Canada;
  • allow for the public dissemination of securities information filed by public companies and investment funds; and
  • provide electronic communication between electronic filers, agents and the Canadian securities regulatory authorities.
SEDAR provides access to documents filed by public companies, investment funds and certain third-party filers. All Canadian public companies and investment funds must file their documents through SEDAR. Foreign companies should file a notice of election before filing documents through SEDAR. In addition, some third parties who are involved in public company transactions, such as take-over bids, may be required to file appropriate documents through SEDAR.

Fees

Filers must pay an annual fee for using the SEDAR system, as well as annual fees to each jurisdiction where they report. Certain document types, for example filing a preliminary prospectus or rights offering circular, may involve additional fees. Fees are paid electronically through SEDAR.

XBRL

SEDAR permits the voluntary filing of annual financial statements in eXtensible Business Reporting Language (XBRL) format. Note, however, that financial statements in XBRL format are not a substitute for financial statements required to be filed through SEDAR in PDF.

For more information on XBRL, see CSA Notice 51-323 XBRL Filing Program and Request for Volunteers.

SEDAR Filer Manual

The SEDAR Filer Manual sets out the standards to be used by electronic filers and filing agents when preparing electronic format documents, as well as providing information on fees. The Manual assumes familiarity with the securities regulatory process, including national and local rules.

Enhancements and changes to the SEDAR filing system are communicated to filers and the general public through SEDAR Subscriber Updates available on the SEDAR website.

Technical assistance related to SEDAR filings may be obtained by contacting the Technical Service Desk at the toll free number 1-800-219-5381.

For more information:

Secteur


SEDAR


SEDAR est le système électronique de dépôt officiel des documents par les compagnies ouvertes et les fonds d'investissement dans l'ensemble du Canada. Il a pour objet de :

  • faciliter le dépôt électronique des renseignements sur les valeurs mobilières que requièrent les autorités de réglementation des valeurs mobilières au Canada;
  • permettre la diffusion publique de l'information sur les valeurs mobilières que déposent les compagnies ouvertes et les fonds d'investissement;
  • permettre la communication électronique entre les déposants, les agents et les organismes canadiens de réglementation des valeurs mobilières.


SEDAR permet d'accéder aux documents déposés par les compagnies ouvertes, les fonds d'investissement et certains tiers. Toutes les compagnies ouvertes et tous les fonds d'investissement du Canada doivent déposer leurs documents par l'entremise de SEDAR. Les compagnies étrangères doivent déposer un avis de décision avant de déposer des documents au moyen de SEDAR. De plus, certains tiers participant aux opérations de compagnies ouvertes, comme les offres d'achat visant à la mainmise, peuvent être tenus de déposer les documents pertinents par l'entremise de SEDAR.

Droits

Les déposants doivent annuellement payer des droits pour utiliser le système SEDAR, en plus des droits qu'ils doivent verser à chaque territoire de compétence auquel ils remettent des déclarations. Pour déposer certains types de documents, par exemple un prospectus provisoire ou une circulaire d'émission de droits, l'émetteur peut devoir payer des droits supplémentaires, qui sont versés électroniquement par l'entremise de SEDAR.

XBRL

SEDAR permet le dépôt facultatif des états financiers annuels au format XBRL (eXtensible Business Reporting Language). Il convient cependant de noter que les états financiers au format XBRL ne remplacent pas les états financiers qui doivent être déposés par l'entremise de SEDAR au format PDF.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur le langage XBRL, se reporter à l'Avis 51 323 des ACVM Programme de dépôt de documents en XBRL et recherche de volontaires (Disponible en anglais seulement).

Manuel du déposant SEDAR

Le manuel du déposant SEDAR décrit les normes que les déposants et les agents de dépôt doivent respecter pour la préparation des documents électroniques et fournit des renseignements sur les droits. Les utilisateurs sont présumés connaître la réglementation des valeurs mobilières, notamment les règles canadiennes et locales.

Les améliorations et les changements apportés au système de dépôt SEDAR sont communiqués aux déposants et au grand public au moyen de mises à jour pour les abonnés SEDAR sur le site Web de SEDAR.

Pour obtenir du soutien technique relativement au dépôt de documents par l'entremise de SEDAR, communiquer avec le service d'assistance technique au numéro sans frais 1 800 219-5381.