Industry


Prospectus Offerings


In most cases, a company must prepare a prospectus when it offers securities to the public.

Companies that plan to offer securities in Ontario typically begin by filing a preliminary prospectus with the OSC. The OSC will issue a receipt for the preliminary prospectus if all filing requirements are met. The OSC reviews the preliminary prospectus and  may provide comments to the company. Once all comments are resolved to the satisfaction of the OSC, the company typically files a final prospectus with the OSC.

If a receipt is issued for a final prospectus, the prospectus can then be used to offer and sell securities.

A prospectus includes specific, detailed disclosure about a company, its business and the securities being offered. It must provide “full, true and plain disclosure of all material facts relating to the securities issued or proposed to be distributed” as required by subsection 56(1) of the Securities Act (Ontario). For more information, see National Instrument 41-101 General Prospectus Requirements.

If the securities are going to be sold both inside and outside of Ontario, the company may also need to consider the laws of another province or territory in Canada. For information on the filing and review process for prospectuses in multiple jurisdictions, see National Policy 11-202 Process for Prospectus Reviews in Multiple Jurisdictions. For more information on issuance of receipts see OSC Staff Notice 41-701 Issuance of Receipts for Preliminary Prospectus and Prospectuses.

Types of Prospectuses

There are different types of prospectuses that a company may prepare, depending on whether the company is already a reporting issuer and the structure of the offering.

Long-form prospectus (IPO)

If a company is undertaking an initial offering of its securities (commonly referred to as an Initial Public Offering, or IPO), or is not eligible to use a short-form prospectus, it must use a long-form prospectus.

A long-form prospectus must contain general business and financial information about the company; details on the terms of securities being offered and how the company intends to use the proceeds; and risk factors associated with a purchase of the securities. Form 41-101F1 Information Required in a Prospectus sets out in detail the information required.

The initial review period for a preliminary long-form prospectus is generally 10 working days. Staff generally issue a comment letter at the end of the 10-day period. For more information on the review procedures for prospectuses, see National Policy 11-202 Process for Prospectus Reviews in Multiple Jurisdictions.

A company undertaking an IPO should look to National Policy 46-201 Escrow for Initial Public Offerings to determine if escrow will apply to the securities being issued. Placing securities in escrow restricts the ability of a company’s management and its principal securityholders to sell their securities for a period of time following the offering. This gives them an incentive to devote their time and attention to the company’s business while they are securityholders.

Upon obtaining a receipt for the filing of its first final long-form prospectus, a company becomes a reporting issuer in Ontario and is subject to ongoing disclosure requirements, many of which are set out in National Instrument 51-102 Continuous Disclosure Obligations.

For more information:

Short-form prospectus

If a company is already a reporting issuer in a Canadian jurisdiction, it may be eligible to use a short-form prospectus. This document allows existing reporting issuers to incorporate certain information into a prospectus by reference.

A reporting issuer’s continuous disclosure record, for example its financial statements and annual information form, forms the basis for the disclosure incorporated by reference into the prospectus.

National Instrument 44-101 Short-form Prospectus Distributions sets out the eligibility criteria and disclosure requirements for this type of prospectus.

The review period for a short-form prospectus is generally three working days. For more information on the review procedures for prospectuses, see National Policy 11-202 Process for Prospectus Reviews in Multiple Jurisdictions.

For more information:

Shelf prospectus


The required disclosure for a base shelf prospectus is essentially the same as for a short-form prospectus, modified in accordance with National Instrument 44-102 Shelf Distributions.

Certain information relating to the details of a particular offering may be omitted from a base shelf prospectus, provided it is included in a supplementary document (referred to as a shelf supplement) that is filed and delivered when the actual distribution of securities occurs.

Once approved, the base shelf prospectus allows companies to access the capital markets quickly. They do so by filing a shelf supplement for a specific offering of securities, which is typically not reviewed by regulators.

For more information:

Post-receipt pricing prospectus

The post-receipt pricing (PREP) procedures allow companies to file a final prospectus that omits pricing and related information. Once pricing is determined, a supplemented PREP prospectus that contains all of the omitted information is filed with the OSC and provided to purchasers.

This gives companies greater flexibility in timing an offering to take advantage of market opportunities. For more information see National Instrument 44-103 Post-Receipt Pricing (NI 44-103).

A PREP prospectus can be based on a long-form or short-form prospectus, as modified by the PREP procedures. For more information, see NI 44-103. Note that PREP procedures cannot be used for a rights offering.

For more information:

Specific Disclosure Requirements for Mining or Oil & Gas Companies

Where a company discloses technical information about a mineral project on a property material to the company, it may be required to file a technical report to support that information. For more information, see Form 43-101F1.

Disclosure included in a prospectus about a mineral project must also be supported by a technical report where required by National Instrument 43-101 Standards of Disclosure for Mineral Projects.

Similarly, companies engaged in oil and gas activities must comply with the disclosure requirements in National Instrument 51-101 Standards of Disclosure for Oil & Gas Activities.

For more information:

Multijurisdictional Disclosure System (MJDS)

National Instrument 71-101 The Multijurisdictional Disclosure System permits eligible U.S. issuers to offer securities in Canada on the basis of disclosure prepared in accordance with U.S. federal securities laws, with certain additional Canadian disclosure.

A public offering of securities of a U.S. issuer may be made under MJDS in either Canada and the United States, or in Canada alone.

Eligibility criteria for U.S. issuers vary depending on the type of security being offered.

To use MJDS a company must:
  • be incorporated or organized under the laws of the U.S. or any state,
  • have a continuous disclosure record with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC),
  • have securities registered under the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, and
  • in some instances have securities listed on a specified U.S. stock exchange and/or a minimum public float.
The SEC has a reciprocal system whereby eligible Canadian companies can offer their securities in the U.S. using a Canadian prospectus, with certain additional disclosure requirements.

The OSC may rely on the SEC’s review of the prospectus, resulting in a less extensive review by the OSC. However, the OSC will continue to review the prospectus for novel or substantive issues.

For more information:

Secteur


Placements au Moyen d'un Prospectus


Dans la plupart des cas, une compagnie doit préparer un prospectus lorsqu'elle propose des valeurs mobilières au public.

Les compagnies qui prévoient proposer des valeurs mobilières en Ontario commencent généralement par déposer un prospectus provisoire auprès de la CVMO. La Commission visera le prospectus provisoire s'il répond à toutes les exigences de dépôt. La CVMO examine le prospectus provisoire et soumet ses commentaires à la compagnie. Lorsque tous les commentaires ont été résolus à la satisfaction de la CVMO, la compagnie dépose habituellement un prospectus définitif auprès de la Commission.

Si un visa est émis à l'égard du prospectus final, ce dernier peut être utilisé pour proposer et vendre des valeurs mobilières.

Un prospectus comprend de l'information précise et détaillée sur une compagnie, ses activités et les titres qu'elle propose. Il doit « divulguer complètement, fidèlement et clairement tous les faits pertinents se rapportant aux valeurs mobilières qui ont été émises ou dont le placement est envisagé » conformément au paragraphe 56 (1) de la Loi sur les valeurs mobilières (Ontario). Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, se reporter à Règlement 41-101 sur les exigences générales relatives aux prospectus (Disponible en anglais seulement).

Si les valeurs mobilières sont vendues à la fois en Ontario et à l'extérieur de l'Ontario, la compagnie peut également devoir tenir compte des lois des autres provinces ou territoires du Canada. Pour obtenir des renseignements sur le processus de dépôt et d'examen des prospectus dans plusieurs territoires de compétence, se reporter à l'Instruction générale 11-202 relative à l'examen du prospectus dans plusieurs territoires (Disponible en anglais seulement).

Types de prospectus

Les compagnies peuvent préparer différents types de prospectus, selon la structure du placement et selon qu'elles sont déjà des émetteurs assujettis.

Prospectus détaillé (PAPE)

Lorsqu'une compagnie place pour la première fois ses titres (communément appelés premier appel public à l'épargne [PAPE]) ou qu'elle n'est pas admissible au prospectus simplifié, elle doit utiliser un prospectus détaillé.

Un prospectus détaillé doit contenir de l'information commerciale et financière générale sur la compagnie, des détails sur les conditions relatives aux valeurs mobilières proposées, la façon dont la compagnie prévoit utiliser le produit et les facteurs de risque associés à l'achat des valeurs mobilières. L'Annexe 41-101A1, Information à fournir dans un prospectus, expose de façon détaillée l'information requise.

La période d'examen d'un prospectus détaillé est généralement de 10 jours ouvrables. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur le processus d'examen des prospectus, se reporter à l'Instruction générale 11-202 relative à l'examen du prospectus dans plusieurs territoires.

Une compagnie faisant un PAPE doit consulter l'Instruction générale 46-201, Modalités d'entiercement applicables aux premiers appels publics à l'épargne pour déterminer si l'entiercement s'appliquera aux valeurs mobilières émises. L'entiercement des valeurs mobilières limite la capacité de la direction d'une compagnie et de ses principaux actionnaires de vendre leurs valeurs mobilières pendant une certaine période suivant le placement. Cela les incite à consacrer leur temps aux affaires de la compagnie et à y prêter attention.

Après avoir obtenu un visa à l'égard du dépôt de son premier prospectus détaillé définitif, une compagnie devient un émetteur assujetti en Ontario et est sujette aux exigences d'information continue, qui sont en grande partie énoncées dans le Règlement 51-102 sur les obligations d'information continue.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements :

Prospectus simplifié

Si une compagnie est déjà un émetteur assujetti dans un territoire de compétence canadien, elle peut être autorisée à utiliser un prospectus simplifié. Ce document permet aux émetteurs assujettis existants d'incorporer certains renseignements dans le prospectus par renvoi.

Le dossier d'information continue d'un émetteur assujetti, comme ses états financiers et sa notice annuelle, constitue la base de l'information intégrée par renvoi dans le prospectus.

Le Règlement 44-101 sur le placement de titres au moyen d’un prospectus simplifié énonce les critères d'admissibilité et les exigences d'information relatifs à ce type de prospectus.

La période d'examen d'un prospectus simplifié est généralement de trois jours ouvrables. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur le processus d'examen des prospectus, se reporter à l'Instruction générale 11-202 relative à l'examen du prospectus dans plusieurs territoires.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements : Une compagnie admissible peut utiliser un prospectus préalable de base pour qualifier une grande quantité de valeurs mobilières en même temps en vue de leur émission subséquente.

L'information requise dans un prospectus préalable de base est essentiellement la même que celle présentée dans un prospectus simplifié, modifiée conformément au Règlement 44-102 sur le placement de titres au moyen d'un prospectus préalable.

Certains renseignements relatifs aux détails d'un placement particulier peuvent être omis dans un prospectus préalable de base, à condition d'être inclus dans un document supplémentaire (appelé supplément de prospectus préalable) qui est déposé et émis lorsque le placement des titres est effectué.

Une fois approuvé, le prospectus préalable de base permet aux compagnies d'accéder rapidement aux marchés financiers. Elles le font en déposant un supplément de prospectus préalable à l'égard d'un placement précis de titres, qui n'est habituellement pas examiné par les organismes de réglementation.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements :

Prospectus de base RFPV

Le régime de fixation du prix après le visa permet aux compagnies de déposer un prospectus définitif qui ne contient pas les prix et l'information connexe. Lorsque le prix a été déterminé, un prospectus avec supplément RFPV qui contient tous les renseignements omis est déposé auprès de la CVMO et fourni aux acheteurs.

Cela donne aux compagnies une plus grande souplesse quant à la date d'un placement, permettant ainsi de profiter des possibilités qu'offre le marché. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, se reporter au Règlement 44-103 sur le régime de fixation du prix après le visa (Règlement 44-103).

Un prospectus de base RFPV peut être préparé à partir d'un prospectus simplifié ou détaillé et modifié selon le régime de fixation du prix après le visa. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, se reporter au Règlement 44-103. Veuillez prendre note que le régime de fixation du prix après le visa ne peut pas être utilisé pour l'émission de droits.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements :

Exigences de divulgation particulières pour les sociétés pétrolières et gazières ou les compagnies minières

Lorsqu'une compagnie divulgue de l'information technique au sujet d'un projet minier concernant un de ses biens importants, elle peut être tenue de déposer un rapport technique pour appuyer cette information. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, se reporter à l'Annexe 43-101A1.

L'information comprise dans un prospectus au sujet d'un projet minier doit également être appuyée par un rapport technique dans les cas où l'exige le Règlement 43-101 sur l'information concernant les projets miniers.

De la même façon, les compagnies qui s'adonnent à des activités pétrolières et gazières doivent se conformer aux exigences de divulgation du Règlement 51-101 sur l'information concernant les activités pétrolières et gazières.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements :

Régime d'information multinational (RIM)

Le Règlement 71-101 sur le régime d'information multinational permet aux compagnies américaines admissibles de proposer des valeurs mobilières au Canada en se fondant sur l'information préparée conformément aux lois sur les valeurs mobilières des États Unis, en y ajoutant certains renseignements canadiens.

Un placement auprès du public de titres d'un émetteur des États Unis peut être fait en vertu du RIM soit au Canada et aux États Unis, soit au Canada seulement.

Les critères d'admissibilité des émetteurs américains varient selon le type de valeurs mobilières proposées.

Pour avoir recours au RIM, une compagnie doit :
  • être constituée ou organisée en vertu des lois des États Unis ou de tout État;
  • avoir un dossier d'information continue auprès de la Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) des États Unis;
  • émettre des valeurs mobilières en vertu de la Loi de 1934 sur les opérations de bourse;
  • dans certains cas, émettre des valeurs mobilières inscrites à une bourse des États Unis précise et (ou) émettre un placement minimum.
La SEC a un système réciproque selon lequel les compagnies canadiennes admissibles peuvent proposer leurs valeurs mobilières aux États Unis au moyen d'un prospectus canadien, sous réserve de certaines exigences de divulgation additionnelles.

La CVMO peut se fier à l'examen du prospectus par la SEC et ainsi effectuer un examen moins poussé.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements :