Industry


Continuous Disclosure


Companies that are reporting issuers in Ontario must regularly make certain information about their activities and financial status available to the public. Many of these requirements are set out in the following rules:

  • National Instrument 51-102 Continuous Disclosure Obligations sets out the obligations for ongoing filing and disclosure requirements.
  • National Instrument 52-107 Acceptable Accounting Principles, Auditing Standards and Reporting Currency sets out the accounting principles and auditing standards that apply to financial statements filed.
  • National Instrument 52-109 Certification of Disclosure in Issuers' Annual and Interim Filings sets out certification requirements for reporting issuers other than investment funds.
  • National Instrument 71-102 Continuous Disclosure and Other Exemptions Relating to Foreign Issuers outlines exemptions for certain foreign issuers from most continuous disclosure requirements and certain other requirements.
The disclosure requirements for venture issuers differ from those of other issuers. The definition of a venture issuer can be found in National Instrument 51-102 Continuous Disclosure Obligations The most significant difference is that venture issuers have longer filing deadlines for annual and interim financial statements and business acquisition reports. In addition, a venture issuer is not required to file an Annual Information Form under Form 51-102F2, and can file a basic certificate under National Instrument 52-109 Certification of Disclosure in Issuers' Annual and Interim Filings.

For more information:

Continuous Disclosure Requirements

The following are brief summaries of some of the main continuous disclosure requirements under securities legislation in Ontario.

Financial Statements

Reporting issuers are required to file annual and interim financial statements with the OSC. Part 4 of National Instrument 51-102 Continuous Disclosure Obligations (NI 51-102) discusses annual and interim financial statements required to be filed, comparative financial statement requirements and the deadlines for filing.

A reporting issuer that is not a venture issuer must file annual financial statements 90 days after the end of its most recently completed financial year and interim financial statements 45 days after the end of the interim period. A venture issuer must file annual financial statements 120 days after the end of its most recently completed financial year and interim financial statements 60 days after the end of the interim period.

Part 4 of NI 51-102 also outlines requirements relating to auditor involvement; approval and delivery of financial statements; and what to do in the case of a change in year-end, corporate structure or auditor.

Management's Discussion and Analysis (MD&A)

Financial statements must be accompanied by the MD&A. The MD&A is a narrative explanation, through the eyes of management, of how a company performed during the period covered by the financial statements, and of the company's financial condition and future prospects. The MD&A supplements, but does not form part of, financial statements and is required to be filed at the same time as the financial statements.

For further information, see Part 5 of National Instrument 51-102 Continuous Disclosure Obligations and Form 51-102F1.

Forward-Looking Information

Companies are encouraged to provide forward-looking information in the disclosure they provide to the public if they have a reasonable basis for doing so. For example, the preparation of MD&A necessarily involves some degree of prediction or projection. The MD&A requires a discussion of known trends or uncertainties that are reasonably likely to affect your company's business.

All forward-looking information must contain a statement that the information is forward-looking; a description of the factors that may cause actual results to differ materially from the forward-looking information; material assumptions; and appropriate risk disclosure and cautionary language. Detailed guidance can be found in Parts 4A and 4B of National Instrument 51-102 Continuous Disclosure Obligations.

Certification of Disclosure

National Instrument 52-109 Certification of Disclosure in Issuers' Annual and Interim Filings sets out certification requirements for all reporting issuers, other than investment funds.

The objective of these requirements is to improve the quality, reliability and transparency of annual filings, interim filings and other materials that companies file or submit under securities legislation. Each certifying officer (usually the CEO and CFO) must certify the annual and interim filings of the company they work for. The content of the certification and the related disclosure is different for venture issuers and non-venture issuers.

Annual Information Form (AIF)

A company that is not a venture issuer must file an AIF every year, usually 90 days after the end of the company's most recent financial year. An AIF provides material information about a company and its business in the context of its historical and possible future development. It describes the company and its operations, prospects, risks and other factors that impact its business.

For further information, see Part 6 of National Instrument 51-102 Continuous Disclosure Obligations and Form 51-102F2.

Disclosure of Material Changes

Reporting issuers are required under securities legislation to publicly disclose any material changes to the issuer's affairs.

A material change is (for a reporting issuer other than an investment fund):
  • a change in the business, operations or capital of a company that would reasonably be expected to have a significant effect on the market price or value of any of its securities; or
  • a decision to implement such a change made by the board of directors or other persons acting in a similar capacity or by senior management of the issuer who believe that confirmation of the decision by the board of directors or any other persons acting in a similar capacity is probable.
Upon the occurrence of a material change, a reporting issuer must immediately issue and file a news release disclosing the substance of the change. The reporting issuer must also file a material change report on Form 51-102F3 as soon as practicable and in any event within 10 days of the date of which the change occurs.

For further information on disclosure of material changes, see Part 7 of National Instrument 51-102 Continuous Disclosure Obligations and Form 51-102F3.

Business Acquisition Reports (BAR)

A company must file a BAR after completing a significant acquisition. The BAR describes the significant business(es) acquired and the effect of the acquisition on the company. The BAR must be filed within 75 days after the date of acquisition.

For further information see Part 8 of National Instrument 51-102 Continuous Disclosure Obligations and Form 51-102F4.

Proxies and Information Circulars

A proxy is a form by which a shareholder appoints a person or company to act on the shareholders' behalf at a shareholder meeting. Subject to certain exemptions, when a company solicits proxies, it must also prepare an information circular.

An information circular includes information on how to exercise a proxy and provides details of the matters to be voted on at the shareholder meeting. The specific information required to be included in an information circular is set out in Form 51-102F5.

An information circular must also include prospectus-level disclosure about certain entities if shareholder approval is required in respect of a significant acquisition under which securities of the acquired business are being exchanged for the issuer's securities or in respect of a restructuring transaction under which securities are to be changed, exchanged, issued or distributed.

For further information, see Part 9 of National Instrument 51-102 Continuous Disclosure Obligations and Form 51-102F5.

Executive Compensation

Information circulars prepared for an annual meeting of shareholders must also include detailed disclosure about the compensation paid to certain executive officers and directors in connection with their office or employment by a reporting issuer or a subsidiary of a reporting issuer. The disclosure requirements for executive compensation are contained in Form 51-102F6.

Restricted Security Disclosures

If a reporting issuer has outstanding restricted securities, or securities convertible into or exchangeable for restricted securities, it must provide certain specified disclosure about those securities.

A restricted security is an equity security of a reporting issuer if any of the following apply:
  • there is another class of securities of the reporting issuer that carry a greater number of votes per security relative to the equity security;
  • the conditions attached to the equity security or contained in the reporting issuer's constating documents have provisions that appear to significantly restrict the voting rights of the equity securities; or
  • the reporting issuer has issued another class of equity securities that appears to enable the owners of the other class to participate in the earnings or assets of the reporting issuer to a greater extent, on a per security basis, than the owners of the first class of equity securities.
For further information on disclosure requirements related to restricted securities, see Part 10 of National Instrument 51-102 Continuous Disclosure Obligations.

Material Contracts and Other Documents

A reporting issuer is required to file with the OSC copies of all material contracts entered into within the last financial year. A material contract entered into in the ordinary course of business may not have to be filed, unless it falls into a category of contract specified in Part 12 of National Instrument 51-102 Continuous Disclosure Obligations (NI 51-102).

A material contract is any contract that a company or any of its subsidiaries is a party to, that is material to the issuer. For a discussion on making materiality determinations, see Part IV of National Policy 51-201 Disclosure Standards.

For further information on the filing requirement for material contracts and other documents affecting the rights of securityholders, see Part 12 of NI 51-102.

Mineral Projects and Oil & Gas Activities

Companies that are engaged in mineral projects or oil and gas activities are subject to additional continuous disclosure requirements.

For example, a company must ensure that all disclosure of scientific or technical information concerning a mineral project on a property material to the company is based on information prepared by or under the supervision of a qualified person. Detailed disclosure requirements for mineral projects are set out in National Instrument 43-101 Standards of Disclosure for Mineral Projects (NI 43-101).

In addition, upon becoming a reporting issuer in a jurisdiction in Canada an issuer must file a technical report for a mineral project on each property that is material to the issuer. The disclosure requirements for technical reports are contained in NI 43-101 and Form 43-101F1 Technical Report.

Disclosure requirements relating to oil and gas activities are set out in National Instrument 51-101 Standards of Disclosure for Oil and Gas Activities (NI 51-101).

For more information on the disclosure requirements that apply to companies with an interest in mineral projects, see NI 43-101.

For companies engaged in oil and gas activities, see NI 51-101.

Continuous Disclosure Exemptions for Foreign Issuers

Foreign companies that are reporting issuers in Canada may be eligible for relief from certain of the continuous disclosure requirements in securities legislation. National Instrument 71-102 Continuous Disclosure and Other Exemptions Relating to Foreign Issuers (NI 71-102) provides relief from many of the continuous disclosure requirements in securities legislation for two types of foreign issuer: SEC Foreign Issuers and Designated Foreign Issuers.

SEC Foreign Issuers are reporting issuers incorporated outside of Canada that are also registered with the SEC and meet certain additional criteria. Designated Foreign Issuers are reporting issuers that are incorporated outside of Canada and are regulated by one of 15 specified jurisdictions. In addition, to be eligible for relief under NI 71-102, a Designated Foreign Issuer cannot have more than 10% of its outstanding equity securities held by Canadian residents. U.S. incorporated companies may also be eligible for relief from certain continuous disclosure requirements under National Instrument 71-101 The Multi Jurisdictional Disclosure System.  

For more information about the categories of foreign issuer and the exemptions that apply, see NI 71-102.

Continuous Disclosure Reviews

Staff of the Commission conduct ongoing reviews of the disclosure documents filed by reporting issuers. A reporting issuer may be selected for a full, issue-oriented or targeted review. The responsibility to ensure compliance with applicable securities legislation, policies and practices rests with a company and its advisors. The fact that a company has not been selected for review in a given year in no way detracts from its duty to remain compliant.

OSC Staff Notice 51-703 Implementation of Reporting Issuer Continuous Review Program, Corporate Finance Branch provides information on the types of reviews that a company can expect the OSC to undertake.

For more information:

Secteur


Information Continue


Les compagnies qui sont émetteurs assujettis en Ontario doivent régulièrement mettre à la disposition du public certains renseignements sur leurs activités et leur situation financière. Nombre de ces exigences sont énoncées dans les règlements suivants :

  • le Règlement 51-102 sur les obligations d'information continue, qui établit les exigences en matière de dépôt et d'information continue;
  • le Règlement 52-107 sur les principes comptables, normes de vérification et monnaies de présentation acceptables, qui énonce les principes comptables et les normes de vérification qui s'appliquent aux états financiers déposés;
  • le Règlement 52-109 sur l'attestation de l'information présentée dans les documents annuels et intermédiaires des émetteurs, qui établit les exigences d'attestation pour les émetteurs assujettis autres que les fonds d'investissement;
  • le Règlement 71-102 sur les dispenses en matière d'information continue et autres dispenses en faveur des émetteurs étrangers, qui expose les dispenses dont peuvent bénéficier certains émetteurs étrangers à l'égard de la plupart des exigences d'information continue et de certaines autres exigences.
Les exigences d'information des émetteurs à risque diffèrent de celles des autres émetteurs . La différence la plus marquante est que les émetteurs à risque ont des échéances plus longues pour le dépôt des états financiers annuels et intermédiaires et des déclarations d'acquisition d'entreprise. De plus, un émetteur à risque n'est pas tenu de déposer une notice annuelle en vertu de l'Annexe 51-102A2 et peut déposer une attestation de base conformément au Règlement 52-109 sur l'attestation de l'information présentée dans les documents annuels et intermédiaires des émetteurs.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements : Ce qui suit est un résumé de quelques-unes des principales exigences d'information continue en vertu de la loi régissant les valeurs mobilières en Ontario.

États financiers

Les émetteurs assujettis sont tenus de déposer des états financiers annuels et intermédiaires auprès de la CVMO. La partie 4 du Règlement 51-102 sur les obligations d'information continue (Règlement 51-102) porte sur les états financiers annuels et intermédiaires qui doivent être déposés, les exigences en matière d'états financiers comparatifs ainsi que les délais de dépôt.

Un émetteur assujetti qui n'est pas un émetteur à risque doit déposer ses états financiers annuels 90 jours après la fin de son dernier exercice et ses états financiers intermédiaires 45 jours après la fin de la période intermédiaire. Un émetteur à risque doit déposer ses états financiers annuels 120 jours après la fin de son dernier exercice et ses états financiers intermédiaires 60 jours après la fin de la période intermédiaire.

La partie 4 du Règlement 51-102 expose également les exigences relatives à la participation du vérificateur, à l'approbation et à la remise des états financiers et aux formalités à remplir en cas de changement de la date de fin d'exercice, de la structure de l'entreprise ou de vérificateur.

Rapport de gestion

Les états financiers doivent être accompagnés d'un rapport de gestion. Le rapport de gestion est une explication détaillée, du point de vue de la direction, du rendement de la compagnie au cours de la période couverte par les états financiers ainsi que de sa situation financière et de ses perspectives d'avenir. Le rapport de gestion, qui complète les états financiers, n'en fait toutefois pas partie intégrante et il doit être déposé en même temps que ces derniers.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, se reporter à la partie 5 du Règlement 51 102 sur les obligations d'information continue et à l'Annexe 51-102A1.

Information prospective

Les compagnies sont encouragées à fournir de l'information prospective dans les renseignements qu'elles présentent au public lorsqu'elles ont un motif valable de le faire. Par exemple, la préparation du rapport de gestion comprend forcément un certain niveau de prédiction et de prévision. Le rapport de gestion doit aborder les tendances connues ou les incertitudes susceptibles d'influer sur les activités de la compagnie.

Toute l'information prospective doit comprendre un énoncé affirmant que l'information est prospective, une description des facteurs pouvant entraîner une différence importante entre les résultats réels et l'information prospective, les hypothèses importantes, l'information appropriée concernant les risques et des mises en garde. Les parties 4A et 4B du Règlement 51-102 sur les obligations d'information continue renferment des directives détaillées.

Attestation de l'information

Le Règlement 52-109 sur l'attestation de l'information présentée dans les documents annuels et intermédiaires des émetteurs établit les exigences d'attestation pour tous les émetteurs assujettis autres que les fonds d'investissement.

L'objectif de ces exigences est d'améliorer la qualité, la fiabilité et la transparence des documents annuels et intermédiaires et de tout autre document que les compagnies déposent ou soumettent en vertu des lois régissant les valeurs mobilières. Le dirigeant responsable (habituellement le chef de la direction et le directeur des services financiers) doit attester les documents annuels et intermédiaires que dépose la compagnie pour laquelle il travaille. Le contenu de l'attestation et l'information connexe diffèrent pour les émetteurs à risque et les autres émetteurs.

Notice annuelle

Une compagnie qui n'est pas un émetteur à risque doit déposer une notice annuelle chaque année, habituellement 90 jours après la fin de son dernier exercice. La notice annuelle présente des renseignements importants concernant la compagnie et ses activités dans le contexte de son évolution passée et de son développement futur possible. Elle décrit la compagnie et ses activités, ses projets, ses risques et autres facteurs influant sur ses affaires.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, se reporter à la partie 6 du Règlement 51 102 sur les obligations d'information continue et à l'Annexe 51-102A2.

Divulgation des changements importants

La loi régissant les valeurs mobilières exige que les émetteurs assujettis divulguent publiquement tout changement important touchant leurs activités.

Un changement important est (pour un émetteur assujetti autre qu'un fonds d'investissement) :

  • soit un changement dans les activités commerciales, l'exploitation ou le capital d'une entreprise dont il est raisonnable de s’attendre qu’il aura une incidence appréciable sur le cours ou la valeur de ses titres;
  • soit la décision d’effectuer un tel changement prise par le conseil d’administration, d’autres personnes remplissant des fonctions analogues ou la haute direction de l'émetteur, si ces derniers estiment qu'il est probable que le conseil d’administration ou ces autres personnes la confirmeront.
Lorsqu'un changement important survient, l'émetteur assujetti doit publier et déposer sans délai un communiqué divulguant la substance du changement. Il doit également déposer une déclaration de changement important conformément à l'Annexe 51-102A3 dès que possible et, dans tous les cas, dans les 10 jours suivant la date du changement.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur la divulgation des changements importants, se reporter à la partie 7 du Règlement 51-102 sur les obligations d'information continue et à l'Annexe 51-102A3.

Déclarations d'acquisition d'entreprise

Une compagnie doit déposer une déclaration d'acquisition d'entreprise après avoir réalisé une acquisition importante. La déclaration d'acquisition importante décrit la ou les acquisitions importantes réalisées et leur incidence sur la compagnie. Elle doit être déposée dans les 75 jours suivant la date de l'acquisition.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, se reporter à la partie 8 du Règlement 51 102 sur les obligations d'information continue et à l'Annexe 51-102A4.

Procurations et circulaires d'information

Une procuration est un formulaire au moyen duquel un actionnaire nomme une personne ou une compagnie pour qu'elle agisse en son nom au cours d'une assemblée des actionnaires. Lorsqu'une compagnie sollicite des procurations, elle doit également préparer une circulaire d'information, sous réserve de certaines dispenses.

La circulaire d'information contient des renseignements sur la manière de donner une procuration et fournit des détails concernant les points sur lesquels les actionnaires doivent voter au cours de l'assemblée. L'information précise qui doit être présentée dans la circulaire d'information est énoncée dans l'Annexe 51-102A5.

Une circulaire d'information doit aussi comprendre des renseignements sous forme de prospectus sur certaines entités lorsque les actionnaires doivent approuver une acquisition importante en vertu de laquelle les valeurs mobilières de l'entreprise acquise sont échangées contre celles de l'émetteur, ou une opération de restructuration en vertu de laquelle des valeurs mobilières doivent être changées, échangées, émises ou distribuées.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, se reporter à la partie 9 du Règlement 51 102 sur les obligations d'information continue et à l'Annexe 51-102A5.

Rémunération de la haute direction

Les circulaires d'information préparées pour une assemblée annuelle des actionnaires doivent aussi renfermer des renseignements détaillés sur la rémunération versée à certains membres de la haute direction et administrateurs relativement à leurs fonctions ou à leur emploi par un émetteur assujetti ou une filiale d'un émetteur assujetti. Les exigences d'information sur la rémunération de la haute direction sont présentées dans l'Annexe 51 102A6.

Information relative aux valeurs mobilières sujettes à restriction

Si un émetteur assujetti a des valeurs mobilières sujettes à restriction en circulation ou des valeurs convertibles en valeurs mobilières sujettes à restrictions ou échangeables contre de telles valeurs, il doit fournir certains renseignements précis sur celles-ci.

Une valeur mobilière sujette à restriction est un titre de participation d'un émetteur assujetti auquel l'un ou l'autre des points suivants s'applique :

  • l'émetteur assujetti a une autre catégorie de titres portant un nombre supérieur de voix par action que le titre de participation;
  • les conditions liées au titre de participation ou contenues dans les documents constitutifs de l'émetteur assujetti comportent des dispositions qui semblent restreindre de façon marquante les droits de vote des titres de participation;
  • l'émetteur assujetti a émis une autre catégorie de titres de participation qui semble permettre aux titulaires des titres de l'autre catégorie de participer à l'actif et aux bénéfices de l'émetteur assujetti dans une plus grande mesure, sur une base unitaire, que les titulaires des titres de participation de la première catégorie.
Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les exigences d'information relatives aux valeurs mobilières sujettes à restriction, se reporter à la partie 10 du Règlement 51-102 sur les obligations d'information continue.

Contrats importants et autres documents

Un émetteur assujetti est tenu de déposer auprès de la CVMO les copies de tous les contrats importants signés au cours du dernier exercice. Un contrat important signé dans le cours normal des affaires peut ne pas devoir être déposé, à moins qu'il entre dans une catégorie de contrats précisée à la partie 12 du Règlement 51-102 sur les obligations d'information continue (Règlement 51-102).

Un contrat important est tout contrat auquel une compagnie ou une de ces filiales est partie et qui revêt une grande importance pour l'émetteur. Pour obtenir des renseignements sur la détermination de l'importance, se reporter à la partie IV de l'Instruction générale 51-201 relative aux lignes directrices en matière de communication de l'information.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les exigences de dépôt des contrats importants et autres documents influant sur les droits des détenteurs de valeurs mobilières, se reporter à la partie 12 du Règlement 51-102.

Projets miniers et activités pétrolières et gazières

Les compagnies participant à des projets miniers ou à des activités pétrolières et gazières sont assujetties à des exigences d'information continue supplémentaires.

Par exemple, une compagnie doit s'assurer que toute divulgation d'information scientifique ou technique concernant un projet minier sur un de ses biens importants repose sur de l'information préparée par une personne compétente ou sous la supervision de cette dernière. Les détails des exigences d'information pour les projets miniers sont énoncés dans le Règlement 43-101 sur l'information concernant les projets miniers (Règlement 43-101).

De plus, lorsqu'un émetteur devient assujetti dans un territoire de compétence au Canada, il doit déposer un rapport technique relatif à tout projet minier sur chacun de ses biens importants. Les exigences d'information relatives aux rapports techniques sont exposées dans le Règlement 43-101 et l'Annexe 43-101A1 sur les rapports techniques.

Les exigences d'information relatives aux activités pétrolières et gazières sont énoncées dans le Règlement 51-101 sur l'information concernant les activités pétrolières et gazières (Règlement 51-101).

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les exigences d'information qui s'appliquent aux compagnies ayant un intérêt dans des projets miniers, se reporter au Règlement 43-101.

Pour les compagnies participant à des activités pétrolières et gazières, se reporter au Règlement 51-101.

Dispenses d'information continue pour les émetteurs étrangers

Les compagnies étrangères qui sont des émetteurs assujettis au Canada peuvent être dispensées de certaines exigences d'information continue que prévoient les lois régissant les valeurs mobilières. Le Règlement 71-102 sur les dispenses en matière d'information continue et autres dispenses en faveur des émetteurs étrangers (Règlement 71-102) accorde une dispense à l'égard de nombreuses obligations d'information continue que prévoient les lois régissant les valeurs mobilières pour deux types d'émetteur étranger : les émetteurs étrangers inscrits auprès de la SEC et les émetteurs étrangers visés.

Les émetteurs étrangers inscrits auprès de la SEC sont des émetteurs assujettis constitués en personne morale à l'extérieur du Canada qui répondent à certains critères additionnels. Les émetteurs étrangers visés sont des émetteurs assujettis qui sont constitués en personne morale à l'extérieur du Canada et réglementés par l'un des 15 territoires de compétence précisés. De plus, pour qu'un émetteur étranger visé soit admissible à une dispense en vertu du Règlement 71-102, pas plus de 10 % de ses titres de participation en circulation ne peuvent être détenus par des résidants canadiens.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements concernant les catégories d'émetteurs étrangers et les dispenses applicables, se reporter au Règlement 71-102.

Examen de l'information continue

Le personnel de la Commission examine régulièrement les documents d'information déposés par les émetteurs assujettis. Un émetteur assujetti peut être sélectionné en vue d'un examen complet, analytique ou ciblé. Il incombe à une compagnie et à ses conseillers de s'assurer qu'elle se conforme aux lois, aux politiques et aux pratiques applicables en matière de valeurs mobilières. Le fait qu'une compagnie n'a pas été choisie pour faire l'objet d'un examen dans une année donnée ne signifie pas pour autant qu'elle peut se soustraire à son devoir de conformité.

L'Avis 51-703 du personnel de la CVMO Implementation of Reporting Issuer Continuous Disclosure Review Program, Corporate Finance Branch fournit des renseignements sur les types d'examens de la CVMO dont une compagnie peut faire l'objet.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements