About the OSC

Our Structure


The OSC is a self-funded Crown corporation, accountable to the Ontario Legislature through the Minister of Finance. The OSC operates under the direction of the Commission.

The Commission

The Commission has two related but independent roles. It serves as the board of directors of the Crown corporation and it performs a regulatory function, which includes making rules and policies, and adjudicating administrative proceedings. The Chair is both the Chair of the Board and the Chief Executive Officer, as set out in the Securities Act (Ontario).

The Commission consists of nine to 16 Members, called Commissioners. The Chair and Vice-Chairs are full-time Members, and the other Members are part-time. One part-time Member is elected by other part-time Members to act as Lead Director, whose duties include overseeing the operations of the Board and its committees.

The Chair, each Vice Chair and each Member are separately appointed for a fixed term by the Lieutenant Governor in Council. Appointments to the Commission are made according to the procedures of the Public Appointments Secretariat of the Government of Ontario. The Member Profile sets out the areas of expertise, skills and qualifications needed by the Commission to fulfil its duties.

Learn more about the current Members of the Commission.

The organization

The Commission is supported by an Executive Director & Chief Administrative Officer (CAO), and approximately 480 employees working in 15 branches and offices. The Executive Director & CAO manages and directs the OSC’s day-to-day operations to achieve its operational and strategic objectives. The duties of the Executive Director are set out in the Securities Act (Ontario) and the Commodity Futures Act (Ontario).

Six of the Commission’s branches are responsible for administering or enforcing regulations: Compliance & Registrant Regulation, Corporate Finance, Derivatives, Enforcement, Investment Funds and Market Regulation. The remaining branches and offices provide support across a range of functions. Learn more about our branches and offices.

À propos


Notre structure


La CVMO est une société d'État autofinancée responsable devant l'Assemblée législative de l'Ontario par l'intermédiaire du ministre des Finances. Elle exerce ses activités sous la direction de la Commission.

La Commission

La Commission assume deux rôles connexes, mais indépendants. Elle agit à titre de conseil d'administration de la société d'État et exerce une fonction de réglementation qui comprend l'élaboration de règles et de politiques ainsi que l'arbitrage d'instances administratives. Le président est à la fois président du conseil et chef de la direction, conformément à la Loi sur les valeurs mobilières (Ontario).

La Commission est composée de neuf à 16 membres, appelés commissaires. Le président et les vice-présidents sont des membres à temps plein, tandis que les autres membres sont à temps partiel. Un membre à temps partiel est élu par les autres membres à temps partiel pour agir à titre d'administrateur principal, dont les tâches incluent la supervision des activités du conseil d'administration et de ses comités.

Le président, chacun des vice-présidents et chacun des membres sont nommés séparément pour une période déterminée par le lieutenant-gouverneur en conseil. Les nominations à la Commission se font selon les procédures du Secrétariat des nominations du gouvernement de l'Ontario. Le profil des membres détermine les domaines d'expertise, les compétences et les aptitudes dont la Commission a besoin pour rempli ses tâches.

Pour en savoir plus au sujet des membres actuels de la Commission.

L'organisation

La Commission est appuyée par un directeur général et chef des services administratifs et quelque 480 employés travaillant dans les 15 directions et bureaux. Le directeur général et chef des services administratifs gère et dirige les activités quotidiennes de la CVMO de manière à ce qu'elle atteigne ses objectifs opérationnels et stratégiques. Ses responsabilités sont énoncées dans la Loi sur les valeurs mobilières (Ontario) et la Loi sur les contrats à terme sur marchandises (Ontario).

Six des directions de la Commission sont chargées d'administrer ou de faire appliquer la réglementation : la Direction de la réglementation des personnes et compagnies inscrites et de la conformité, la Direction du financement des sociétés, la Direction des instruments dérivés, la Direction de l'application de la loi, la Direction des fonds d'investissement et la Direction de la réglementation des marchés. Les autres directions et bureaux offrent du soutien dans divers autres domaines. Pour en savoir plus au sujet des directions et des bureaux de la CVMO.