About


Accountability


The OSC is a self-funded Crown corporation, accountable to the Ontario Minister of Finance. The OSC operates under the direction of the Commission.

Memorandum of understanding with the Minister

The Commission has a memorandum of understanding (MOU) with the Minister of Finance that describes the roles and responsibilities of the Minister, the Commission’s Chair, Executive Director and Board of Directors. It also describes the accountability relationship between the Commission and the Minister, including detailed reporting requirements. Under the Securities Act (Ontario), the Commission and the Minister are required to enter into a MOU every five years. The most recent MOU is dated November 5, 2009.

Our priorities

The OSC is responsible for setting its strategic direction and priorities, and managing its operations. Each year, we are required to deliver to the Minister:

  • a Statement of Priorities, which describes our priorities for the current fiscal year, and
  • the OSC Annual Report, which contains audited financial statements and a description of our activities for that fiscal year.

Each year, we publish our proposed Statement of Priorities for public comment on the OSC website and in the OSC Bulletin.

Our conduct

The OSC is committed to the highest standards of ethical conduct in all of its activities. All Members of the Commission and employees are expected to comply with the OSC Code of Conduct and related policies. OSC By-law No. 1 governs the conduct of the affairs of the OSC, including matters related to management and administration.

As representatives of a Crown corporation, the Members of the Commission and employees of the OSC are also subject to certain requirements of the Public Service of Ontario Act, 2006 (PSOA), including those governing ethical conduct and political activity. The conflict of interest rules in the OSC’s Code of Conduct adhere to the requirements applicable to public servants and former public servants under the PSOA.

We publish on the OSC website information relating to travel, meal and hospitality expenses of the OSC's senior executives and Members of the Commission on a quarterly basis, and annually for the top five claimants.

Reviews

The OSC periodically undergoes reviews by legislative committees or independent committees appointed by the Government of Ontario. The OSC was most recently reviewed in 2008-09 by the provincial Standing Committee on Government Agencies. Prior to that, the Minister of Finance formed an independent committee, known as the Five Year Review Committee, to review the legislation, regulations and rules relating to matters dealt with by the OSC. The committee’s final report was released in 2003.

À propos


Responsabilisation


La CVMO est une société d'État autofinancée responsable devant l'Assemblée législative de l'Ontario par l'intermédiaire du ministre des Finances. Elle exerce ses activités sous la direction de la Commission.

Protocole d'entente avec le ministre

La Commission a conclu un protocole d'entente avec le ministre des Finances qui décrit les rôles et les responsabilités du ministre ainsi que du président, du directeur général et du conseil d'administration de la Commission. Le protocole décrit également la relation de reddition de comptes qui existe entre la Commission et le ministre, y compris les exigences détaillées quant aux rapports à fournir. Selon la Loi sur les valeurs mobilières (Ontario), la Commission et le ministre doivent conclure un protocole d'entente tous les cinq ans. Le dernier protocole a été signé le 5 novembre 2009.

Nos priorités

La CVMO décide elle-même de son orientation et de ses priorités stratégiques, en plus de gérer ses activités. Chaque année, elle doit fournir au ministre :

  • un énoncé des priorités, qui décrit ses priorités pour l'exercice en cours;
  • le rapport annuel de la CVMO, qui contient les états financiers vérifiés et une description de ses activités pour ce même exercice.

Chaque année, nous publions l'énoncé des priorités que nous proposons aux fins de commentaires du public sur notre site Web et dans le Bulletin de la CVMO.

Notre conduite

La CVMO s'est engagée à respecter les normes d'éthique les plus rigoureuses dans le déroulement de toutes ses activités. Tous les membres de la Commission de même que les employés doivent se conformer au Code de conduite de la CVMO et aux politiques connexes. Le Règlement no 1 de la CVMO régit la conduite des affaires de la CVMO, y compris les questions de gestion et d'administration.

En tant que représentants d'une société d'État, les membres de la Commission et les employés de la CVMO sont également assujettis à certaines exigences de la Loi de 2006 sur la fonction publique de l'Ontario, y compris celles qui régissent la déontologie et les activités politiques. Les règles en matière de conflits d'intérêts du code de conduite de la CVMO sont conformes aux exigences s'appliquant aux fonctionnaires et aux anciens fonctionnaires en vertu de la Loi de 2006 sur la fonction publique de l'Ontario.

La CVMO publie sur son site Web des renseignements relatifs aux frais de déplacement, de repas et d'hébergement des cadres supérieurs et des membres de la Commission à chaque trimestre et des renseignements de même nature pour les cinq personnes qui ont présenté le plus grand nombre de demandes chaque année.

Examens

La CVMO fait régulièrement l'objet d'examens de comités législatifs ou de comités indépendants nommés par le gouvernement de l'Ontario. Elle a été examinée la dernière fois en 2008-2009 par le Comité permanent des organismes gouvernementaux de la province. Avant cela, le ministre des Finances a formé un comité indépendant, le Comité d'examen quinquennal, dans le but d'examiner les lois, les règlements et les règles qui concernent les activités de la CVMO. Le rapport final de ce comité a été publié en 2003.